As I Lay DyingDana Willax

As I Lay Dying Readying Deluxe Edition Of “Shaped By Fire”


As I Lay Dying are preparing a deluxe edition of their latest album, their 2019 comeback effort “Shaped By Fire“. The bonus material featured on that expanded outing will include their newly released b-side “Roots Below“, which is streaming here.

Guitarist/vocalist Phil Sgrosso said of that latest track and the upcoming deluxe edition:

- Advertisement -

“‘Roots Below‘ was a track I initially wrote for the ‘Shaped By Fire‘ album, but at the time we collectively felt it needed more time and attention to develop it to its fullest potential. We were finally able to piece it all together along with some other material taken from the ‘Shaped By Fire‘ touring cycle, bundling it all into a deluxe version of the album.

Apart from the studio versions of ‘Roots Below‘ and ‘Destruction Or Strength‘, there will be an assortment of live songs captured on tour from 2019 in Europe, several ballad/electronic re-interpretations, a studio version of an instrumental track we wrote exclusively for the live show, an instrumental version of the entire album, as well as some other transitional pieces from our set that we wanted to share as part of this release. This has been a very productive first step towards getting back into the creative zone and beginning to focus on new material for next year.”

While a release date for this deluxe version is pending, the below track listing for the bonus material featured on it has been revealed. Current plans have the effort arriving before the year’s end.

01 – “Re-Separation” (instrumental)
02 – “Roots Below
03 – “Destruction Or Strength
04 – “My Own Grave” (re-interpretation)
05 – “Redefined” (re-interpretation)
06 – “Pre-Shaped By Fire” (live intro)
07 – “Euphony From Ashes” (live outro)
08 – “Blinded” (Live from Munich)
09 – “My Own Grave” (Live From Munich)
10 – “Burn To Emerge” (instrumental)
11 – “Blinded” (instrumental)
12 – “Shaped By Fire” (instrumental)
13 – “Undertow” (instrumental)
14 – “Torn Between” (instrumental)
15 – “Gatekeeper” (instrumental)
16 – “The Wreckage” (instrumental)
17 – “My Own Grave” (instrumental)
18 – “Take What’s Left” (instrumental)
19 – “Redefined” (instrumental)
20 – “Only After We’ve Fallen” (instrumental)
21 – “The Toll It Takes” (instrumental)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch