BorknagarJørn Veberg

Borknagar To Release 25th Anniversary Edition Of Their Self-Titled Debut Album


A 25th anniversary reissue of Borknagar‘s 1996 self-titled debut album is being prepared for a November 12th release through Century Media. The remastered outing will arrive with 12 bonus tracks on its 2-CD digipak / digital formats, while 8 bonus tracks will appear on the vinyl pressing.

The band’s founder and guitarist Øystein G. Brun commented:

“Throughout the years I have received countless requests for a re-release of this album…but because this album represents such a personal and treacherous part of my life, I wanted it to be done with dignity. And here we are: This is the definitive re-release of the debut album of Borknagar.

This release contains a genuine re-master of the debut album, based on the original mix tapes. This has been done with the uttermost care and love by yours sincerely to maintain the original sound and flavour of the album, and solely to improve the listening experience. Working on this re-release has been an emotional ride. While always maintaining a good feeling about the project it has been times of frustration and technical obstacles.

Hours has been spent finding and compiling old pictures, dealing with tapes and equipment that has not been played or used in over 25 years. But now it is done, and I hope you all enjoy and appreciate this release as much as I do.”

The track listing for the included bonus material run as follows:

01 – “Vintervredets Sjelesagn” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
02 – “Svartskogs Gilde” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
03 – “Krigsstev” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
04 – “Dauden” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
05 – “Grimskalle Trell” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
06 – “Fandens Allheim” (Live Session at Grieghallen Studios 1995)
07 – “Ved Steingard” (Alternate Mix)
08 – “Nord Naagauk” (Alternate Mix)
09 – “Vintervredets Sjelesagn” (Rehearsal 1994)
10 – “Grimskalle Trell” (Rehearsal 1994)
11 – “Ved Steingard” (First ever recording 1994)
12 – “Vintervredets Sjelesagn” (Alternate Mix)

Pre-orders can be obtained here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch