CynicEkaterina Gorbacheva

Cynic Announce New Album “Ascension Codes”, Debut “Mythical Serpents”


Cynic‘s new album “Ascension Codes” has been announced for a November 26th release on Season Of Mist. The track “Mythical Serpents” has landed as the first single from the release and is available to stream below. The band’s frontman, guitarist, etc. Paul Masvidal had the following to share about this new track:

“I invite you to sit back, close your eyes, and listen to ‘Mythical Serpents‘ as a fully realized piece of music. No phones or screens necessary, just the power of sound communicating directly into the ears of your heart. In the coming weeks, Cynic will be revealing further details on the constellation that is ‘Ascension Codes‘, including a ‘Mythical Serpents‘ animated video, featuring the artwork of Martina Hoffmann & Robert Venosa. Stay tuned.”

- Advertisement -

The album features bass synthesizer parts performed by keyboardist Dave Mackay in light of last year’s passing of Cynic bassist Sean Malone. Masvidal commented:

“He’s got a vast jazz harmonic vocabulary, which is what’s needed in the context of Cynic‘s music, especially for bass lines. I knew that I could never replace Malone. Anyone I would find would be expected to play like him, and that’s not fair to another musician. And things were too fresh for me with the loss of Malone, so I had to go somewhere new.

With Mackay, I heard his groovy left-hand approach, and how musical he was across the board having played with a variety of musicians and styles. I realized he would bring something fresh to the table, and he provided a space for me to start again with a completely different instrument and forgo any traditional ideas I had about what Cynic bass lines should sound like.”

Ascension Codes” was co-produced and mixed by Warren Riker. It will also feature several guest appearances, including DARK, Max Phelps (Exist, Death To All, etc.), and Plini. You can pre-order that effort here.

01 – “Mu-54*
02 – “The Winged Ones
03 – “A’-va432
04 – “Elements And Their Inhabitants
05 – “Ha-144
06 – “Mythical Serpents
07 – “Sha48*8. 6th Dimensional Archetype
09 – “DNA Activation Template
10 – “Shar-216
11 – “Architects Of Consciousness
12 – “DA’z-a86.4
13 – “Aurora
14 – “DU-*61.714285…
15 – “In A Multiverse Where Atoms Sing
16 – “A’jha108
17 – “Diamond Light Body
18 – “Ec-ka72

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch