MelvinsBob Hannam

Melvins Announce Extensive Acoustic Double Album “Five Legged Dog”, Share Stripped Down Version Of “Night Goat”


October 15th will see the release of a new career-spanning acoustic album from the Melvins titled “Five Legged Dog“. Their longtime label home of Ipecac Recordings will be releasing the 36-song effort, which compiles newly stripped down takes on songs ranging from their 1987 debut album “Gluey Porch Treatments” all the way to 2017’s “A Walk With Love & Death“. Acoustic versions of several covers are also featured. A vinyl release will follow on January 28th.

Vocalist/guitarist Buzz Osborne commented of the set:

- Advertisement -

“I knew I wanted to do something ridiculously big. 36 songs reimagined by us acoustically is certainly ridiculous but it works. The magic of the songs is still there regardless of it being acoustic. Since we weren’t touring we had the time to do something of this size. I’m very excited about this record. Dale and Steven did a fantastic job on this. I think it’s a very special record. I can’t think of anyone else who’s done something like this.”

Their revised take on “Night Goat” emerges as the first single from the outing and is available below. Drummer/vocalist Dale Crover said of it:

“I think people will be surprised that we can do an acoustic version of a song like ‘Night Goat‘ without losing any of the heaviness. We also worked hard on the vocal arrangements. People are going to freak out!”

Pre-orders can be found here.

Five Legged Dog” track listing:

01 – “Edgar The Elephant” (“A Walk With Love & Death“)
02 – “Up The Dumper” (“The Bootlicker“)
03 – “Hung Bunny/Roman Dog Bird” (“Lysol“)
04 – “Hooch” (“Houdini“)
05 – “Billy Fish” (“Nude With Boots“)
06 – “Shevil” (“Stoner Witch“)
07 – “Charlie” (Redd Kross cover from “Escape From LA” single)
08 – “A Growing Disgust” (“Freak Puke“)
09 – “Eye Flys“/”Woman” (“Gluey Porch Treatments” – “Woman” is a Free cover)
10 – “Pitfalls In Serving Warrants” (“Honky“)
11 – “Outside Chance” (The Turtles cover from “Slithering Slaughter” single)
12 – “Evil New War God” (“The Bride Screamed Murder“)
13 – “The Bloated Pope” (“Pigs of the Roman Empire“)
14 – “Bad Move” (“The Fickle Finger of Fate“)
15 – “With Teeth” (“Lysol“)
16 – “Halo of Flies” (“Alice Cooper cover from “Sieg Howdy“!)
17 – “Oven” (“Ozma“)
18 – “Sway” (The Rolling Stones cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
19 – “Anaconda” (“Bullhead“)
20 – “Lovely Butterfly” (“Honky“)
21 – “Boris” (“Bullhead“)
22 – “It’s Shoved” (“Bullhead“)
23 – “Honey Bucket” (“Houdini“)
24 – “We Are Doomed” (“The Bulls & The Bees“)
25 – “Flypaper” (Brainiac cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins)
26 – “Let God Be Your Gardener” (“Ozma“)
27 – “At The Stake” (“Stoner Witch“)
28 – “Night Goat” (“Houdini“)
29 – “Queen” (“Stoner Witch“)
30 – “Everybody’s Talking” (Fred Neil cover – previously unrecorded by the Melvins) (feat. Jeff Pinkus)
31 – “Revolve” (“Stoner Witch“)
32 – “Suicide In Progress” (“Nude With Boots“)
33 – “Prig” (“The Bootlicker“)
34 – “The Bit” (“Stag“)
35 – “Civilized Worm” (“(A) Senile Animal“)
36 – “Don’t Forget to Breathe” (“Pinkus Abortion Technician“) (feat. Jeff Pinkus)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch