Iron Maiden

Iron Maiden Announce New Album “Senjutsu”


Iron Maiden have officially announced their 17th studio album “Senjutsu“. Due out September 03rd on Parlophone Records, it was actually recorded back in early 2019 and will arrive as their first outing in six years. The band once again worked with producer Kevin Shirley on the record, with their own Steve Harris co-producing. Artist Mark Wilkinson oversaw the Eastern-themed cover art for the album, the title for which roughly translates to ‘tactics & strategy’.

Pre-orders for the 82 minute opus will launch this Wednesday, July 21st. Speaking of it ahead of that, Harris offered:

- Advertisement -

“We chose to record at Studio Guillaume Tell in France again as the place has such a relaxed vibe. The setup there is perfect for our needs; the building used to be a cinema and has a really high ceiling so there’s a great acoustic sound. We recorded this album in the same way we did ‘The Book Of Souls‘ in that we’d write a song, rehearse it and then put it down together straight away while it was all fresh in our minds.

There’s some very complex songs on this album which took a lot of hard work to get them exactly as we wanted them to sound, so the process was at times very challenging, but Kevin is great at capturing the essence of the band and I think it was worth the effort! I’m very proud of the result and can’t wait for fans to hear it.”

The band’s frontman Bruce Dickinson added:

“We’re all really excited about this album. We recorded it back in early 2019 during a break in the Legacy tour so we could maximize our touring yet still have a long set up period before release to prepare great album art and something special as a video. Of course the pandemic delayed things more – so much for the best laid plans – or should that be ‘strategies’!? The songs are very varied, and some of them are quite long. There’s also one or two songs which sound pretty different to our usual style, and I think Maiden fans will be surprised – in a good way, I hope!”

Senjutsu” track listing:

01 – “Senjutsu
02 – “Stratego
03 – “The Writing On The Wall
04 – “Lost In A Lost World
05 – “Days Of Future Past
06 – “The Time Machine
07 – “Darkest Hour
08 – “Death Of The Celts
09 – “The Parchment
10 – “Hell On Earth

The song “The Writing On The Wall” was recently launched as the first single from the outing, you can take it in below:

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch