KatatoniaEster Segarra

Katatonia Announce B-Sides & Rarities Compilation “Mnemosynean”


Katatonia are preparing a new b-sides and rarities set by the name of “Mnemosynean“. Peaceville Records will have that collection out on October 01st. A press release shared by the band regarding it reads:

‘This new release marks 30 years since the formation of the band; Mnemosynean contains an extensive collection of all of Katatonia’s rarities and B-sides, including tracks from our numerous EPs, unused album songs, limited special edition bonuses, cover songs, as well as a series of collaborative remixes.

The intriguing title of ‘Mnemosynean’ itself represents memories & was selected because tomb inscriptions dating back to 400 BCE say that the dead could keep their memories by avoiding drinking from the Lethe, and drink instead from the stream flowing from the lake of Mnemosyne (the goddess of memory).

The Mnemosynean packaging includes a new band biography courtesy of music journalist Eleanor Goodman, as well as full lyrics plus backgrounds to the track origins described by founding members Anders Nyström and Jonas Renkse, along with other close Katatonia collaborators. The artwork for this release has been created by long-running Katatonia visual artist Travis Smith.’

Pre-orders are available here and here.

Mnemosynean” track listing:

Disc 1:
01 – “Vakaren
02 – “Sistere
03 – “Wide Awake In Quietus
04 – “Night Comes Down
05 – “Second
06 – “The Act Of Darkening
07 – “Ashen
08 – “Sold Heart
09 – “Displaced
10 – “Dissolving Bonds
11 – “Unfurl
12 – “Code Against The Code

Disc 2:
01 – “Wait Outside
02 – “Sulfur
03 – “March 4
04 – “O How I Enjoy The Light
05 – “Help Me Disappear
06 – “Fractured
07 – “No Devotion
08 – “Quiet World
09 – “Scarlet Heavens
10 – “In The White (Urban Dub)
11 – “My Twin (Opium Dub Version)
12 – “Soil`s Song (Krister Linder 2012 remix)
13 – “Day And Then The Shade (Frank Default remix)
14 – “Idle Blood (Linje 14)
15 – “Hypnone (Frank Default Hypnocadence mix)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch