Employed To Serve

Employed To Serve To Release New Album “Conquering” In September, Debut “Exist” Music Video


Employed To Serve‘s new studio album “Conquering” has been announced for a September 17th release through Spinefarm Records. Recording sessions for the outing took place under producer/mixer Lewis Johns at The Ranch in Southampton, UK “Exist” has been launched as the first single from the release and is available below. A video for it directed by Ryan Mackfall can be seen below.

Frontwoman Justine Jones said of the single:

- Advertisement -

“‘Exist‘ is a song that celebrates the highs and lows of existing. For this video, I really wanted to capture the excitement of being a pre-teen and discovering the absolute joy that is music. I loved the idea of getting into someone’s head at that time and them daydreaming about being on stage with the band you love, like we did when we were that age and recently in the past year when we couldn’t play shows!”

It took six months of planning due to the pandemic and because we had to source someone who could create one-off figures of each band member. We were lucky enough to come across Mattachine Society from Brooklyn, who creates awesome bootlegs. For the model stage and backline, [guitarist] Sammy [Urwin] and I channelled our inner Art Attack and made that during the winter lockdown to keep our minds from the apocalypse.

When having meetings about how to dress the set and actors, we wanted to shout out as many of our mates’ bands as possible and leave little Easter eggs for people to find with each re-watch of the video.”

The most important aspect of the video for me was finding a young energetic girl to play the really stoked kid. When I was growing up, metal was a very male-dominated genre and I always felt a bit out of place. I feel that this is a different story now with so many women in bands. Working in the industry and in the crowd, it’s becoming normalized, which is really exciting.”

Speaking on the album itself, she offered:

“‘Conquering‘ is about rising above adversity and self-doubt. We’re really excited to share our latest album — I feel it’s our best work to date. We wanted to go a more metal orientated direction with this album and see how far we could push our musical capabilities.”

Conquering” track listing:

01 – “Universal Chokehold
02 – “Exist
03 – “Twist The Blade
04 – “Sun Up To Sun Down
05 – “The Mistake
06 – “We Don’t Need You
07 – “Set In Stone
08 – “Mark Of The Grave
09 – “World Ender
10 – “ The Conquering
11 – “Stand Alone

Pre-orders can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch