CarcassHannah Verbeuren

Carcass To Release New Album “Torn Arteries” In September, Debut “Kelly’s Meat Emporium”


Carcass‘ new album “Torn Arteries” now has a new release date of September 17th through Nuclear Blast. The band had originally planned to release that outing in August of 2020 until COVID-19 concerns forced them to rethink their plans.

Last year the band’s guitarist Bill Steer told Heavy of the inspiration for the album’s title:

“[Ken Owen] had a fictitious band called Torn Arteries and he recorded everything himself in his bedroom — guitar and he’d actually bang on boxes and kind of scream into the mic. d the whole thing was so distorted, it kind of sounded super heavy, even though essentially you were listening to a guy with a Spanish guitar and a couple of boxes. I think Jeff [Walker[ appreciates the connection to the past and the fact that it was another Ken Owen classic. So that was his choice, really, and it stuck.”

Though not the first track to emerge from the album (“Under The Scalpel Blade” first saw a release in 2019,) “Kelly’s Meat Emporium” has been launched as the first official single from the release is available below.

Speaking more recently of the album and its artwork (done by Zbigniew Bielak,) Carcass vocalist/bassist Jeff Walker offered:

“It’s very clean, white, which we’ve never done before. It doesn’t look evil, or typically death metal, but I like how clean it is; almost like a coffee table book.” This new album presents images, lyrics, and sounds that so distinctly scream Carcass, but ferry us into a new era of production, songwriting, and art all together.”

“I think as our 7th album, it does stand out from the others both sonically and stylistically. You can definitely tell that it’s Carcass; when you drop that needle on the vinyl, when you hear that guitar tone, you can tell it’s Bill Steer, but each album is always a product of its time.”

As for this newly released single from it, he commented, “The working title for Kelly’s was originally ‘Stock Carcass‘. We knew that one was a real meat and potatoes track for the album.”

Pre-orders for the album can be found here.

Torn Arteries” track listing:

01 – “Torn Arteries
02 – “Dance Of Ixtab (Psychopomp & Circumstance March No. 1)
03 – “Eleanor Rigor Mortis
04 – “Under The Scalpel Blade
05 – “The Devil Rides Out
06 – “Flesh Ripping Sonic Torment Limited
07 – “Kelly’s Meat Emporium
08 – “In God We Trust
09 – “Wake Up And Smell The Carcass / Caveat Emptor
10 – “The Scythe’s Remorseless Swing

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch