AnnihilusMichael Vallera

Annihilus To Release New Album In August, “Draw The Beast” Music Video Debuts


Annihilus, the black metal outfit headed up by Luca Cimarusti, will have their sophomore album “Follow A Song From The Sky” out on August 13 through Federal Prisoner—the label founded by Jesse Draxler and Greg Puciato (The Black Queen, ex-The Dillinger Escape Plan, etc.).

Draxler commented:

- Advertisement -

“Our intent with FP has always been to release other’s material as well as our own, it was just a matter of letting that happen organically rather than through force. I (Jesse) was listening to a lot of ‘Ghanima‘ over the winter and through an Instagram share Luca and I began talking. When he told me he was working on an album that he’d like for us to consider my interest was piqued because I knew it would be the kind of fresh and understatedly genre-subversive material we could get behind. After listening to FASFTS many times over I can say that intuition wasn’t wrong. We couldn’t be more psyched to rep this release.”

The song “Draw The Beast” has been released from the outing and the track finds Ryan Wichmann of Sick/Tired guesting. Cimarusti commented:

“This song features lead vocals in the verses by Ryan Wichmann of Chicago grindcore band Sick/Tired, and he also wrote the lyrics, which are based on Barry Windsor-Smith’s 1991 Weapon X comic series. The end of the track also features heavy synth drones by electronic composer Brett Naucke.”

The below music video for it directed by Michael Vallera is also now available to view. Cimarusti said of it:

“I think Vallera‘s music video really captures the energy and chaos of the story here—claustrophobic, frantic, overwhelming dread caused by being trapped in confined spaces with something meaner and more powerful than you.”

Follow A Song From The Sky” track listing:

01 – “The Grand Illusion
02 – “Twist Ending
03 – “Draw the Beast
04 – “Winter Song
05 – “The Voice Of Shai-Hulud
06 – “AMA
07 – “Isolation Tracking
08 – “Song From The Sky

Pre-orders are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch