Stone Temple Pilots

Stone Temple Pilots Stream Early Version Of “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart”


A previously unreleased version of Stone Temple Pilots‘ “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart” has been made available online. This early pass at the track is included on the approaching 25th anniversary edition of the band’s 2x multi-platinum 1996 album “Tiny Music… Songs From The Vatican Gift Shop“. A July 23rd release date has been set for that outing on Rhino Records.

The band’s drummer Eric Kretz told Stereogum of this version:

- Advertisement -

“So usually we would have one or two songs per album where we would record the music and not have any vocal ideas to accompany us. With this Early version of ‘Trippin‘, Scott had the rhythm tracks to work off of and this was his first day at singing the song. I really enjoy hearing him trying to work out the tongue twisting verse lyrics that are such a great counter rhythm to the music in the verses.”

The super deluxe edition of “Tiny Music… Songs From The Vatican Gift Shop” will run as follows:

Disc One: Original Album 2021 Remaster:

01 – “Press Play
02 – “Pop’s Love Suicide
03 – “Tumble In The Rough
04 – “Big Bang Baby
05 – “Lady Picture Show
06 – “And So I Know
07 – “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart
08 – “Art School Girl
09 – “Adhesive
10 – “Ride The Cliché
11 – “Daisy
12 – “Seven Caged Tigers

Disc Two: Early Versions, Instrumentals, & Alternate Mixes:

01 – “Press Play” (full-length version) (previously unreleased)
02 – “Pop’s Love Suicide” (early version) (previously unreleased)
03 – “Tumble In The Rough” (early version) (previously unreleased)
04 – “Big Bang Baby” (early version) (previously unreleased)
05 – “Lady Picture Show” (early version) (previously unreleased)
06 – “And So I Know” (early version) (previously unreleased)
07 – “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart” (early version) (previously unreleased)
08 – “5 Or 4 Times (Art School Girl)” (early version) (previously unreleased)
09 – “Adhesive” (instrumental) (previously unreleased)
10 – “Ride The Cliché” (instrumental) (previously unreleased)
11 – “Seven Caged Tigers” (early version) (previously unreleased)
12 – “Big Bang Baby” (alternate version) (previously unreleased)
13 – “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart” (percussion mix) (previously unreleased)
14 – “Art School Girl” (jaw harp version) (previously unreleased)
15 – “Kretz’s Acoustic Song” (previously unreleased)

Disc Three: Live at Club La Vela, Panama City Beach, FL (3/14/97):

01 – “Crackerman” (previously unreleased)
02 – “Meatplow” (previously unreleased)
03 – “Tumble In The Rough” (previously unreleased)
04 – “Vasoline” (previously unreleased)
05 – “Wicked Garden” (previously unreleased)
06 – “Trippin’ On A Hole In A Paper Heart” (previously unreleased)
07 – “Plush” (previously unreleased)
08 – “Big Empty” (previously unreleased)
09 – “Interstate Love Song” (previously unreleased)
10 – “Lady Picture Show” (previously unreleased)
11 – “Unglued” (previously unreleased)
12 – “Big Bang Baby” (previously unreleased)
13 – “Dead & Bloated” (previously unreleased)
14 – “Sex Type Thing” (previously unreleased)

Big Bang Baby” 7-inch:

Side A:
Big Bang Baby

Side B:

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch