Sleep Waker

Sleep Waker Sign With UNFD, Debut “Distance” Music Video


Grand Rapids, MI-based outfit Sleep Waker have signed with UNFD and will release their sophomore album “Alias” through the label on July 23rd. A music video for the new single “Distance” from that has just arrived online ahead of time and is available below.

Vocalist Hunter Courtright stated:

- Advertisement -

“‘Distance‘ is about loss — more specifically, losing someone very close to you. For me, it’s about witnessing my grandfather struggle with dementia. His passing really hit me and it was a very hard and emotional experience. I immediately knew I needed an outlet for that feeling and started working on the lyrics that eventually turned into ‘Distance.'”

Drummer Frankie Mish offered:

“When writing ‘Distance,’ we realized this was the perfect song to round off this album. We had most of the songs finished and this demo just sat there as a lead and a chorus, and the further we got into the process, the more we realized we really needed something to stick out as a major emotional point in the album. Once that clicked, the song just easily flowed out.”

Speaking of the overall concepts of the band and this forthcoming album, Mish added:

“When I had the idea to start the band, I had insomnia and sleep paralysis. It was a big thing in my life. I had the name Sleep Waker, I was playing around with logos and stuff like that. And then Hunter mentioned he had insomnia as a kid. So we bonded over that connection.

Each release has had a theme built around experiences we’ve had in dreams, or concepts based around sleep. ‘Lost In Dreams‘ established that, and ‘Don’t Look At The Moon‘ was all about sleep paralysis. But we tagteamed the lyrics this time. I write from a lot of my personal experiences of nightmares and dreams. Overall, our overarching theme has always been the band name itself.”

Courtright continued:

“I’ve had hallucinations. I’ve had the feeling of someone sitting on my chest, and monolithic figures staring at me from the corner of my bedroom. That stuff’s definitely still interwoven throughout the album. But things really took a shift this time. On this record, my lyrics are quite literal and personal. Everything I wrote was either situational to my life, or about how a person can be changed by a life event or circumstance, thus creating an alias.”

Alias” track listing:

01 – “Alias
02 – “Skin
03 – “Strangers
04 – “Cold Moon
05 – “Melatonin
06 – “Insomniac
07 – “110 Minutes
08 – “Serenity
09 – “Synthetic Veins
10 – “Distance

Pre-orders for “Alias” are available here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch