Mayhem To Release “Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando” EP Featuring Dead Kennedys, Ramones, Etc. Covers


Mayhem have a July 09th digital release date set for their new album “Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando” EP. In addition to three rare and previously unreleased tracks, the outing will also find the band covering a handful of punk tracks, including songs by the Ramones, Dead Kennedys and more.

Frontman Attila Csihar commented:

- Advertisement -

“I always had some punk influences. I guess it comes from my childhood when we were constantly looking for more extreme music. That’s how I discovered Dead Kennedys, GBH, The Exploited, Sex Pistols, U.K. Subs, Discharge, Rudimentary Peni and so on, in the early 80’s, alongside heavy metal. But then I discovered Venom, that was a game changer!”

Bassist Necrobutcher added:

“We had some extra time in the studio recording the ‘Daemon‘ album two years ago, all band members were asked to punch in two cover tracks for some extra material. I chose songs by Deathstrike (‘The Truth‘) and Death (‘Evil Dead‘), which were both used as the bonus tracks on the album.

My other contribution was to bring in two old members because of their obvious connection with punk: Maniac on the Dead Kennedys track and Billy (Messiah) on the Discharge track and some of the others.”

Atavistic Black Disorder / Kommando” track listing:

01 – “Voces Ab Alta
02 – “Black Glass Communion
03 – “Everlasting Dying Flame
04 – “In Defense Of Our Future” (Discharge cover)
05 – “Hellnation” (Dead Kennedys cover)
06 – “Only Death” (Rudimentary Peni cover)
07 – “Commando” (Ramones cover)

Pre-orders are available here with several limited edition vinyl variants headed for a September 10th release.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch