At The GatesEster Segarra

At The Gates Debut New Track “Spectre Of Extinction”


At The Gates‘ new single “Spectre Of Extinction” has officially been released. It’s taken from the band’s seventh studio album, “The Nightmare Of Being“, which is headed for a July 02nd release on Century Media. Pre-orders for the album will be made available here.

A music video directed by Patric Ullaeus for the track can be seen below, while the song itself features a guest spot from King Diamond guitarist Andy La Rocque. At The Gates frontman Tomas Lindberg Redant commented

- Advertisement -

“It is always very hard to choose which song to release to the public first, especially with this album having so many layers and textures. We did feel, however, that this, the opening track of the record, represented the overall feel of the album. It has the musical depths that you would expect from an At The Gates track, and still carries that intensity and urgency that we have always tried to get across with our music.

For the video, it was wonderful to be able to continue the work with the mighty Patric Ullaeus, as he understands our vision with the music and is willing to go all the way to portray the song’s inner dimensions. I think he did that excellently with this one and I’m very proud of the result. The lyrics deal with humanity’s will and how that clashes with our consciousness, and our knowledge of our mortality. Enjoy!”

The Nightmare Of Being” was recorded across several sessions. Drums were tracked at Studio Gröndal in Stockholm, Sweden with Jens Bogren (Opeth, Arch Enemy). The guitars and bass were overseen by Andy La Rocque at his Sonic Strain Studio in Varberg, Sweden. The vocals were helmed by Per Stålberg at his Welfare Sounds in Gothenburg, Sweden. Jens Bogren oversaw the mixing and mastering duties at his Fascination Street Studios in Örebro, Sweden.

The Nightmare Of Being” track listing:

01 – “Spectre Of Extinction
02 – “The Paradox
03 – “The Nightmare Of Being
04 – “Garden Of Cyrus
05 – “Touched By The White Hands Of Death
06 – “The Fall Into Time
07 – “Cult Of Salvation
08 – “The Abstract Enthroned
09 – “Cosmic Pessimism
10 – “Eternal Winter Of Reason

A deluxe edition of the album is also being offered and will feature the following bonus live album, along with an expanded booklet, a poster and art prints. An instrumental version of “The Nightmare Of Being” will also be included in that set.

01 – “Red” (live at Roadburn) (King Crimson cover)
02 – “The Scar” (live at Roadburn)
03 – “Koyaanisqatsi” (live at Roadburn) (Philip Glass cover)
04 – “The Burning Darkness” (live at Roadburn)
05 – “Daggers of Black Haze” (live in Stockholm)
06 – “Death And The Labyrinth” (live in San Francisco)
07 – “A Stare Bound In Stone” (live in San Francisco)
08 – “Heroes And Tombs” (live in San Francisco)
09 – “The Night Eternal” (live in San Francisco)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch