At The GatesEster Segarra

At The Gates Detail New Album “The Nightmare Of Being”


At The Gates have lifted the veil on their seventh full-length album, “The Nightmare Of Being“, which will arrive on July 02nd via Century Media Records. The opus was tracked across several sessions, with the drums laid down at Studio Gröndal under Jens Bogren (Amon Amarth, Opeth), guitars and bass at Sonic Train Studio with Andy La Rocuqe and vocals at Welfare Sounds with Per Stålberg. Bogren oversaw the mixing and mastering at his Fascination Street Studios.

The band’s frontman Tomas “Tompa” Lindberg (aka Tomas Lindberg Redant) commented:

- Advertisement -

“The overall theme deals with the topic of pessimism, and I have been diving deep down in pessimistic philosophers. Trying to understand this way of looking at the world. It is not a negative album, more a gateway into new ideas for me personally, trying out different perspectives. You could call the album an introduction to pessimism as a concept, I guess. It is a very dark album, but not negative.”

He added, “It still sounds like At The Gates 100 percent. It is just more of everything.”

The Nightmare Of Being” track listing:

01 – “Spectre Of Extinction
02 – “The Paradox
03 – “The Nightmare Of Being
04 – “Garden Of Cyrus
05 – “Touched By The White Hands Of Death
06 – “The Fall Into Time
07 – “Cult of Salvation
08 – “The Abstract Enthroned
09 – “Cosmic Pessimism
10 – “Eternal Winter Of Reason

Pre-orders for the album will go up on April 30th.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch