Silver Lake

Silver Lake (Amorphis) Tap Soilwork, Katatonia, Leprous, Etc. Vocalists For Debut Album


Amorphis guitarist Esa Holopainen‘s ‘solo’ venture Silver Lake will release its self-titled debut album on May 28th via Nuclear Blast. Holopainen has tapped a wealth of vocal talent for that album, including his Amorphis bandmate Tomi Joutsen as well as members of Soilwork, Katatonia, Leprous and more.

He commented of that:

“At first, I really didn’t know if the album would turn out to be purely instrumental or would there be vocalists as well. However, one thing was certain, I wouldn’t be the singer of Silver Lake. Many times, when people think about a guitarist’s solo album, they get the impression of technical stuff with a huge amounts of notes played extremely fast. Well, I‘m not a big fan of that kind of music. Whenever I write, I always want to pile up interesting songs, and not just shred for the sake of it.”

Sessions for the album took place last year at Sonic Pump Studios in Helsinki, Finland with Nino Laurenne co-producing alongside Holopainen. As for the particulars on who is guesting on what, the below track listing for the record should clear up any questions:

01 – “Silver Lake” (instrumental)
02 – “Sentiment” (feat. Jonas Renkse of Katatonia)
03 – “Storm” (feat. Håkan Hemlin of Nordman)
04 – “Ray Of Light” (feat. Einar Solberg of Leprous)
05 – “Alkusointu” (feat. Vesa-Matti Loiri)
06 – “In Her Solitude” (feat Tomi Joutsen of Amorphis)
07 – “Promising Sun” (feat. Björn ‘Speed’ Strid of Soilwork / The Night Flight Orchestra)
08 – “Fading Moon” (feat. Anneke Van Giersbergen)
09 – “Apprentice” (feat. Jonas Renkse of Katatonia)

A first single from the album is expected to launch in the near future.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch