Sumo CycoFrancesca Ludikar

Sumo Cyco Announce New Album “Initiation”, Debut “Bystander” Video


Sumo Cyco‘s new studio album “Initiation” has been announced for a May 07th release date on Napalm Records. A music video directed by the band’s frontwoman Skye “Sever” Sweetnam and filmed by lead guitarist Matt “MD13” Drake for the first single, “Bystander” has launched ahead of time and can be viewed below. Sweetnam said of that:

“‘Bystander‘ was inspired by the frustration of our lives turning upside down in this pandemic. I felt like instead of living my life, I was now a slave to a screen, watching the world fall apart right before my eyes, totally helpless. The music video depicts my character trapped in a floating house watching news events taking place on TV, and at the same time, right outside my window. This entire video was produced, filmed and edited by Matt and I in our home studio!”

Sweetnam also spoke of “Initiation“, offering:

“The album’s title, Initiation, stems from wanting to invite the audience to be “initiated” into our world. There are usually two congruent themes to each of our albums – one is real-world inspiration, and the other is ‘Cyco City’, a comic book-esque alternate universe where all our music videos take place. With Initiation, we introduce four gangs or clubs. Our music videos for Initiation all include a theme of these clubs – whether it’s gang vs. gang, a forbidden love between opposing sides, or the idea of having to choose where you belong.

Outside of the story, the lyrics relate to the polarization of the world we live in now. We all have a longing to belong, but what makes one feel accepted or ostracized from a group? To be INITIATED, would you be willing to try to understand another point of view? I have always written lyrics about internal struggle, the war within oneself. Throughout the album, we bounce back and forth between struggle and overcoming. It reflects the times, and there are moments that seem a bit dark.”

Initiation” track listing:

01 – “Love You Wrong
02 – “Bystander
03 – “Vertigo
04 – “Bad News
05 – “No Surrender
06 – “M.I.A.
07 – “Cyclone
08 – “Run with The Giants
09 – “Overdrive
10 – “Power & Control
11 – “This Dance Is Doomed
12 – “Awakened” (bonus track)

Several other bonus tracks will appear on select editions of the album, with the songs “New Jive” and “We Are The Nation” reserved for the ‘Die Hard Limited Edition’. Pre-orders for the record can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch