Red Hot Chili Peppers

Red Hot Chili Peppers, Helmet, Rage Against The Machine, Etc. Members Involved In Upcoming Andy Gill/Gang Of Four Tribute


May 14th has now been set as the official release date for the upcoming tribute album to late Gang Of Four guitarist Andy Gill. Titled “The Problem Of Leisure: A Celebration Of Andy Gill And Gang Of Four“, it will emerge via Gill Music.

The album originally began as a 40th anniversary celebration of Gang Of Four‘s “Entertainment!” that was being spearheaded by Gill prior to his February 2020 death. Gill had already shifted gears on the project before his untimely passing, involving other artists in the form of covers.

- Advertisement -

His widow Catherine Mayer continued and expanded upon the project following his death, offering:

“There was never any doubt in my mind that I should finish what Andy had started. He took so much pleasure from hearing from artists which track they had chosen and why. He was delighted by the tracks he lived long enough to hear. Even in what turned out to be his final days of life, he listened to mixes on a laptop in his hospital bed and asked me to send notes and responses to the contributors on his behalf. He also talked to me about further musicians he hoped to coax to come on board. After he died, I made contact with several of these. All said yes.”

The album’s track listing runs as follows:

CD 1:

01 – IDLES – “Damaged Goods
02 – Tom Morello & Serj Tankian – “Natural’s Not in It
03 – Helmet – “In the Ditch
04 – 3D x Gang Of Four – “Where the Nightingale Sings” (feat. Nova Twins)
05 – Hotei – “To Hell With Poverty
06 – Gary Numan – “Love Like Anthrax
07 – Gail Ann Dorsey – “We Live as We Dream, Alone
08 – Herbert Grönemeyer – “I Love a Man in a Uniform” (feat. Alex Silva)
09 – LoneLady – “Not Great Men
10 – JJ Sterry – “5.45

CD 2:

01 – La Roux – “Damaged Goods
02 – Everything Everything – “Natural’s Not in It
03 – Dado Villa-Lobos – “Return The Gift
04 – The Dandy Warhols – “What We All Want
05 – Warpaint – “Paralysed
06 – Flea & John Frusciante – “Not Great Men
07 – The Sounds – “I Love A Man In A Uniform
08 – Hardcore Raver in Tears – “Last Mile” (“Broken Talk” cover)
09 – Killing Joke x Gang of Four – “Forever Starts Now” (Killing Joke dub)
10 – Sekar Melati – “Not Great Men” (live version)

Pre-orders are available here. Rage Against The Machine guitarist Tom Morello and System Of A Down frontman Serj Tankian‘s cover of “Natural’s Not In It” saw a release earlier this month and can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch