SoilworkStephansdotter Photography

Soilwork To Release New EP “A Whisp Of The Atlantic” In December, Debut “The Nothingness And The Devil” Video


Soilwork have announced a December 04th release date for a new EP by the name of “A Whisp Of The Atlantic“. A new track titled “The Nothingness And The Devil” has been made available as the first single and you can check out a video for it below. As for this EP, the band’s guitarist David Andersson commented:

“From the desire of ‘Feverish‘, the urge of ‘Desperado‘, the determinism of ‘Death Diviner‘, the insights and questions of ‘The Nothingness and the Devil‘ and the acceptance and spiritual searching of ‘A Whisp of the Atlantic‘. The whole song and video sequence is like a slightly different take on Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs. It’s all about realizing that we’re all stuck on this rock and that we need to find something more inclusive than religion to get through this together.

- Advertisement -

Because in the end, we’re all outsiders, genetically hunter-gatherers trying to fit in in a world that we created but at the same time wasn’t really made for us. The overarching theme is liberation from the extremely low level of the social and cultural debate these days, and it starts with the fundamentals and ends with the phenomenological. From liberation into ascension.”

Speaking further on the newly released single, he offered:

“‘The Nothingness And The Devil‘ is a song about how the old concept of a patriarchal God doesn’t work anymore, and how everyone with any logic reasoning must accept that we have to create our own deities, if we need them. Or if we don’t, we’ll have to accept the fact that our lives are essentially meaningless unless we are able to find our meaning and make ourselves feel fulfilled.

The video also hints at the emasculation of a male god, and how gender shouldn’t be a factor in any form of religious discourse anymore. Perhaps this is the time to question your beliefs and accept that no God will correct the mess that we all have put ourselves into.”

Pre-orders for the EP are available here, with it set to run as follows:

01 – “A Whisp Of The Atlantic
02 – “Feverish
03 – “Desperado
04 – “Death Diviner
05 – “The Nothingness And The Devil

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch