PliniChad Dao

Plini Announces New Album “Impulse Voices”, Debuts “I’ll Tell You Someday”


A new Plini album titled “Impulse Voices” has been lined up for a November 27th release date. The lead single “I’ll Tell You Someday” has been launched ahead of time and can be heard below. Pre-orders for the record are also now live and can be found here.

Plini had Simon Grove co-produce and mix the release. Grove also appears on bass, while Chris Allison took on the drumming duties. Guests spots include Dave Mackay on piano & synthesizer, John Waugh on saxophone, Amy Turk on electro-acoustic harp, and additional production from Devesh Dayal & Aleksandra Djelmash.

- Advertisement -

Plini commented of the release:

“The early demos for these songs range from a few months to a few years old, but the majority of the work that went into the album was during the first half of this year. With all travel plans cancelled until further notice, I slowed my lifestyle way down and spent almost every day from March til August wandering around Sydney, listening to podcasts and music, and then coming home and chipping away at these songs.

“It was an extremely fun, rewarding and explorative process – the closest I’ve felt to the free-spiritedness I had when I first started writing music (way before ever releasing it), but informed by everything I’ve learnt and experienced in the last few years of tours and travel.

To make an analogy, I feel like I designed a pretty cool house for the listener to inhabit with these songs, but it was made truly special by the masterfully-crafted furnishings and decorations added by Chris, Simon and the rest of the musicians involved.”

As for the aforementioned first single, he offered:

“I picked this as the first ‘single’ because I wanted to provide the listener with a big, warm, instrumental hug, in a time when I feel everyone could use one. I think it gives a friendly first impression of the album, in terms of sound and energy, though may also provide a false sense of security for some of the stranger territory the rest of the album ventures into…”

Impulse Voices” track listing:

01 – “I’ll Tell You Someday
02 – “Papelillo
03 – “Perfume
04 – “Last Call
05 – “Impulse Voices
06 – “Pan
07 – “Ona / 1154
08 – “The Glass Bead Game