Saul Debut David Draiman Co-Written New Single “King Of Misery”


Saul will release their debut album “Rise As Equals” on October 23rd through Spinefarm Records. Ahead of that comes the reveal of the below first single from the album, “King Of Misery“, which was co-written by Disturbed frontman David Draiman. The band’s lead vocalist Blake Bedsaul commented of the single:

“‘King Of Misery‘ is a track that we hope all people can relate to at some point in their lives. It’s about being aware that your life is spiraling out of control and warning everyone around you that if they stay, you’ll only drag them down with you. We are the rulers of our own domain but there are certain life lessons that you can only learn in the struggle. At that point, we all become the ‘King Of Misery.'”

- Advertisement -

Speaking of working with Draiman on the track, he offered:

“It was a very unique experience being able to write a song with someone as influential as David Draiman. His humble and down-to-earth nature made it such a comfortable experience. It wasn’t ideal having writing sessions over Zoom. But we definitely made it work. We knew we wanted to write a song that once you heard it, it would give you an emotional concussion. ‘King Of Misery‘ is a blast into reality that most people don’t want to face and spend years running from.”

Draiman himself added:

“These guys were a pleasure to work with, as they are talented, dedicated, diligent, and already armed with an arsenal of hooks. I was honored to be able to contribute.”

As for the album itself, Blake stated:

“‘Rise As Equals‘ is the full embodiment of all the trials and tribulations we face as a band, fathers, sons, brothers, and humans. We write about everything from our biggest fears in songs like ‘Looking To Fight‘ and ‘Don’t Close Your Eyes‘, while the title track is an ode to the wonderful men and women that make up our amazing fan base known as ‘The Equals‘.”

Rise As Equals” track listing:

01 – “Trial By Fire
02 – “Looking To Fight
03 – “Brother
04 – “King Of Misery
05 – “Get It Right
06 – “Rise As Equals
07 – “Inside
08 – “Don’t Close Your Eyes
09 – “Levee
10 – “Here And Now
11 – “The Toll
12 – “Things Change
13 – “Sticks And Stones
14 – “Welcome To The Machine

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch