Devin TownsendTanya Ghosh

Devin Townsend To Release “Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1” In October


Devin Townsend has announced an October 23rd release date for his new live Blu-ray/album, “Order Of Magnitude – Empath Live Volume 1“. The outing captures his ‘Empath Volume 1‘ tour lineup performing at the Roundhouse in London, England and was filmed back on December 12th, 2019. That touring lineup saw him joined by:

Vocals/guitars – Ché Aimee Dorval (Casualties Of Cool)
Drums – Morgan Ågren (Kaipa)
Guitars – Mike Keneally (Dethklok)
Ambient guitars – Markus Reuter (Stick Men)
Bass – Nathan Navarro
Keyboards – Diego Tejeida (Haken)
Vocals – Samantha Preis
Vocals – Anne Preis
Vocals – Arabella Packford

- Advertisement -

Townsend had plans to tour with several different lineups in support of his latest outing “Empath“, with this first being referred to as ‘Volume 1’. Speaking of this particular set and release, he commented:

“The whole objective was that I wanted to make that statement: This is by the seat our pants. Because it’s important to me to represent this hyper anal-retentive music that I’ve made over the years, but in a human way. Rather than it just being, ‘Well, here it is, perfectly done.’

I was overwhelmed by the fact that all these brilliant people that I have so much respect for were willing to come together and play this weird shit with me. I had these unique players and this interesting instrumentation that allowed us to interpret the music in different ways. It was clear to me that I could just have fun and be me and know that they would be effortlessly be able to follow that.”

This set will be made available across numerous video and audio formats, including a limited edition deluxe 2-CD/1 Blu-ray/1-DVD artbook set. Pre-orders for the outing will commence on August 28th. The effort will run as follows:

01 – “Borderlands
02 – “Evermore
03 – “War
04 – “Sprite
05 – “Gigpig Jam
06 – “Coast
07 – “Gato
08 – “Heavens End
09 – “Ain’t Never Gonna Win
10 – “Deadhead
11 – “Why?
12 – “Lucky Animals
13 – “Castaway/Genesis
14 – “Spirits Will Collide
15 – “Disco Inferno
16 – “Kingdom

As previously reported, Townsend will be performing an ambitious concert with his ‘Volume 2’ lineup that will focus on the heavier material from his back catalog on September 05th. Details for that performance can be found here.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch