Mr. BungleEric Larsen

Mr. Bungle To Release Re-Recorded “The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny” Demo In October, Debut Updated Version Of “Raping Your Mind”


Mr. Bungle have announced an October 30th release date on Ipecac Recordings for their re-recorded version of their 1986 demo, “The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny“. That outing reunites the band’s frontman Mike Patton, guitarist Trey Spruance and bassist Trevor Dunn with Anthrax guitarist Scott Ian and Suicidal Tendencies, etc. drummer Dave Lombardo completing their lineup.

It will mark Mr. Bungle‘s first proper release in 21 years and follows on their run of reunion shows together in support of the demo earlier this year. Pre-orders for the new version of the demo are available here. Furthermore, a video for the re-recorded version of “Raping Your Mind” from the album has also newly been launched online below.

The group oversaw the production of the outing themselves with Jay Ruston (Stone Sour, Anthrax) being brought on to mix. It will be bolstered by tracks from the era that were previously uncompleted as well as a reimagined cover of Stormtroopers Of Death‘s “Speak English Or Die” and a rendition of Corrosion Of Conformity‘s “Loss For Words. Actress Rhea Perlman will also guest on the track “Anarchy Up Your Anus“, providing narration. Patton said of the sessions:

“Recording THIS music with THESE guys was an enormous head-rush of virtuosity and surprises every day in the studio. Trey’s video game-esque solos, Scott’s bionic right hand and cyborg-like precision, Dave’s caveman-meets-Bobby Brady-like drum fills, Trevor’s solid foundation and laser-focus to detail. There is nothing sweeter than getting your ass kicked by true comrades…where everyone has a singular drive and mission.”

Dunn added:

“Recording this record felt like we were finally utilizing our Ph.Ds in Thrash Metal. All we had to do was go back to our original professors for some additional guidance and talk them into joining us. Turns out we were A+ students. We even went for extra credit by revisiting some tunes that we’d given up on back in the day. It was less like a trip of nostalgia and more like the refining of an original, worthy document. We were haunted for 35 years by the fact that this music wasn’t given it’s due respect. Now we can die.”

The Raging Wrath Of The Easter Bunny” track listing:

01 – “Grizzly Adams
02 – “Anarchy Up Your Anus” (feat. Rhea Perlman)
03 – “Raping Your Mind
04 – “Hypocrites” / “Habla Español O Muere” (Stormtroopers Of Death cover)
05 – “Bungle Grind
06 – “Methematics
07 – “Eracist
08 – “Spreading The Thighs of Death
09 – “Loss For Words” (Corrosion Of Conformity cover)
10 – “Glutton For Punishment
11 – “Sudden Death

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch