King MothershipRandy Edwards

King Mothership (Periphery) To Release Debut Album In October, Hear “Cosmic Meltdown”


Periphery frontman Spencer Sotelo and drummer Matt Halpern have released a new track titled “Cosmic Meltdown from their long-gestating project, King Mothership. The project was previously known as The Mothership back during its last bout of activity in 2013. Guitarist Nick Johnston has exited the fold since that earlier incarnation with Sotelo having taken on the guitar (and keyboard) duties himself. Slaves‘ bassist Tai Wright completes the trio’s latest lineup.

The group’s debut album “The Ritual” will be out on October 02nd via Periphery‘s own 3DOT Recordings, you can pre-order it here. Sotelo commented:

“Very excited to finally share this record with the world. These ideas have been around for about eight years and it’s such an amazing feeling to have sculpted them into songs we’re all so proud of as a band. We had a blast making this record and I think it’s gonna be the first of many to come.”

A press release lists the bands Muse, Jamiroquai, The Mars Volta, The Dear Hunter and Queen as being inspiration for the project. Speaking on why he decided to resurrect the project all these years later, Sotelo commented:

“I just got sick of hearing it in the demo form. But I would have some Periphery fans hit me up every now and then, and they’d be like, ‘What happened?’ Somebody hit me up in my direct messages like, ‘What’s the deal with that?’ And I was like, ‘Yeah, what is the deal with that?’ A couple years ago, I went back and started opening the sessions. I was like, ‘This is fucking cool.’ I was re-inspired.”

The track listing for “The Ritual” can be found below with Plini notably guesting on the closing track, “I Stand Alone“.

01 – “Hope
02 – “Cosmic Meltdown
03 – “Gold
04 – “Only You
05 – “Babby
06 – “Goodnight My Darling
07 – “Death Machine
08 – “The Ritual
09 – “Ego 101
10 – “The Devil’s Train
11 – “Imminent Distortion
12 – “I Stand Alone” (feat. Plini)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch