Deafkids & PetbrickFelipe Pagani

Deafkids & Petbrick To Release New Collaborative Album “Deafbrick”, Hear “Força Bruta”


Deafkids and Petbrick have announced an upcoming collaborative album by the name of “Deafbrick“. Petbrick are of course a duo featuring Iggor Cavalera of Cavalera Conspiracy/ex-Sepultura, etc. fame and Wayne Adams (Big Lad/Death Pedals, etc.). The proper origins of the collaboration stem back to a past pairing at the annual ‘Roadburn Festival‘. Cavalera commented:

“We had so much fun doing the collab and there was a real chemistry between the five of us, so it seemed like a natural progression to actually get into a studio together and write a record.”

Deafkids added:

“It’s an honor for us to have taken part in this collaboration with Petbrick. When we had the opportunity, in the middle of a tour, to get together at Wayne‘s studio in London for two-and-a-half days to let the ideas flow, record things, and see what would happen, we couldn’t expect for a better result – a full album very rich on dynamics, sonic explorations, and unreached territories.

We were able to integrate ourselves in a way that doesn’t sound exactly like any of the bands alone, and this is very interesting in the sense of aesthetic and sonic freedom as it creates ramifications of the paths already taken, extending the steps of what has been and what is yet to come. To have the chance to co-create with Iggor and Wayne as musicians and producers – who are extremely kind, creative, open-minded guys with a long path of experience in music roads – was a very special process of sharing, hearing, and learning.

We also had Gordon from Terminal Cheesecake and Luminous Bodies and Matt from Casual Nun featured on two tracks, which was also amazing. We’re always very well received by these guys, bands and all these amazing people since our very first time in the UK, so it’s really nice to be extending this connection with this recording.”

Deafbrick” will be out on September 04th through Neurot Recordings/Rocket Recordings. A video for the opening track from the album, “Força Bruta“, can be seen below.

Deafbrick” track listing:

01 – “Primeval I
02 – “Força Bruta
03 – “Sweat-Drenched Wreck
04 – “The Menace Of The Dark Polar Night
05 – “Máquina Obssessivo-Compulsiva
06 – “O Antropoceno
07 – “Mega-Ritual
08 – “Hyperkinetic Mass Disorder
09 – “Free Speech For The Dumb” (Discharge cover)
10 – “Primeval II

An interview with members of the project can be found at The Quietus.