The Acacia Strain

The Acacia Strain Release New EP “Y”, Confirm New Album “Slow Decay”


The Acacia Strain‘s EP series has come to an end with the release of their new outing, “Y“. Over the past couple of months the band have been putting out a series of EPs which have ultimately spelled out the word “Decay“.

his latest outing features the tracks “One Thousand Painful Stings“, which sports a guest turn from Spiritbox/ex-iwrestledabearonce frontwoman Courtney LaPlante, and the upper case titled “EARTH WILL BECOME DEATH“. Pre-orders for a 7” pressing of “Y” can be found here with a July 03rd release date expected.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, the band have also confirmed that the series will culminate in a full-length album by the name of “Slow Decay“, out July 24th on Rise Records. That series will compile all of the previously released tracks from the “Decay” EP series along with 2 previously unreleased cuts. You can pre-order that here.

Speaking of the album and how it has come together via the EP rollout, the band’s frontman Vincent Bennett commented:

“The whole concept is reality breaking down around us. We’ve done our time on earth, broken through the boundaries of what reality actually is, and we’re now witnessing our collective descent into madness.

Lyrically and sonically, everything reflects that. You’re getting the vision piece by piece. The whole theme is a slow dive. By the same token, it organically becomes one record instead of just one big push out of the gate.

As soon as you think you’re getting the hang of it, we throw out a wrench with the full-length. There’s no evidence to suggest we’re aren’t actually in a living hell. The things happening around us could be out of a comic book or a movie.

The idea is, ‘This can’t be real.’ Maybe something happened. Maybe we’re all dead and we don’t even know it. Maybe we’re just living in some augmented reality hellscape of actual planet earth.”

Slow Decay” track listing:

01 – “Feed A Pigeon Breed A Rat
02 – “Crippling Poison
03 – “Seeing God” (feat. Aaron Heard of Jesus Piece)
04 – “Solace And Serenity
05 – “The Lucid Dream” (feat. Jess Nyx of Mortality Rate)
06 – “I breathed in the smoke deeply it tasted like death and I smiled” (feat. Zach Hatfield of Left Behind)
07 – “Crossgates
08 – “Inverted Person
09 – “Chhinnamasta
10 – “One Thousand Painful Stings” (feat. Courtney LaPlante of Spiritbox)
11 – “Birds of Paradise, Birds of Prey

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch