Powerman 5000

Powerman 5000 Debut “Black Lipstick” Music Video


Powerman 5000 have premiered an official music video directed by their own frontman Spider One for their new single “Black Lipstick“.  Spider said of this track:

“I believe this was the first song we wrote for the album. It kind of laid the groundwork for the sound of the whole record. Kind of more experimental and electronic than the previous one. I think I may have been trying to channel Peter Murphy with the vocals.”

- Advertisement -

As for the below video for it:

“I had been watching a lot of clips from the British music show Top of the Pops and decided that creating a fake music show called Pop Toppers would be a pretty fun idea for a music video. Though just having Powerman 5000 performing the song seemed a bit whatever. That’s when I dreamed up the fictitious female goth band ‘Holly Holly and The Night Cloaks.’ Having this Siouxsie & the Banshees-type band lip sync our song was hilarious and matched the dark wave tone of the song perfectly.”

The song is the first to be launched from their new album “The Noble Rot“, which Cleopatra Records will have out on August 28th. The track listing for that record will run as follows:

01 – “Cannibal Killers That Kill Everyone
02 – “Brave New World
03 – “Play God Or Play Dead
04 – “Black Lipstick
05 – “Special Effects
06 – “Let The Insects Rule
07 – “Movie Blood
08 – “Strange People Doing Strange Things
09 – “We Got The Beat” (The Go-Go’s cover)
10 – “VHS

The CD version of the effort will also feature a re-recorded version of the band’s single “When Worlds Collide” off their platinum selling 1999 album “Tonight The Stars Revolt!” as a bonus track.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch