letlive.Jon Weiner

letlive. Celebrate 10th Anniversary Of “Fake History” With Demo Collection


Today, April 13th, 2010, marks the tenth anniversary of letlive.‘s sophomore album “Fake History“. In celebration of that anniversary the band have released a collection of the demos that eventually evolved into the finished record. You can purchase that now via Bandcamp with the ability to name your price.

The band’s former frontman Jason Aalon Butler commented of the release:

“2007-2009. Whenever I think about those years I smile and I’m overcome with this sense of inimitable nostalgia. We learned a lot about freedom during that era. We worked multiple shit jobs and/or hustled in ways that some may consider questionable just to buy equipment. We found the most nefarious of establishments to call our studio. We quite literally risked our health and lives in mobile death traps we called “tour vans”.

I mean one of our vans had a hole in the floor during a winter tour of America. It was completely metal inside with no lining, and my best friend and I agreed to share the back floor where the doors didn’t lock properly and would randomly open when we were driving on the highway. That’s how bad we wanted it and I truly believe it showed.

In these demos, all we wanted to do was create something different. Different than the primary music we listened to or the “scene” we would be considered in, different than that around us, different than what each other wanted at times even. That’s what made these demo years so special. We allowed ourselves and each other an opportunity to be free as creatives AND as people.

Our effort to be so different was ironic as one of the biggest hurdles we faced when trying to grow the band was our lack of breakdowns and swoopy bangs. But in the end it is what made ll. so special to us and to those who became bold enough to say they liked it. The ones brave enough to come to the shows and let go with us. The ones with the courage to be different within an already sub-cultural arena. Those ll.ifers. That ll.ove.

I think I speak for us all when I say we had no idea where these demos would bring us and that’s the most beautiful part about it. That aforementioned freedom and uncertainty – it brought us to you.”

The track listing for the set, which has been dubbed “10 Years Of Fake History“, runs as follows:

01 – “01 Poison // Lemon Party
02 – “James Brown // Homeless Jazz
03 – “02 Instrumental // Over Being Under
04 – “Enemies // Enemies/Enemigos
05 – “02 Track // The Sick Sick 6.8 Billion
06 – “Casino // Casino Columbus
07 – “03 Phoenix // Muther
08 – “Dun Dun // Hollywood And She Did
09 – “04 Humanity // H. Ledger

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch