Haken Announce New Album “Virus”, Debut “Prosthetic” Music Video


Haken have announced a June 05th release for their new album “Virus” through InsideOutMusic. A music video directed by Vicente Cordero for the first single “Prosthetic” can be found below. The band commented of it:

“‘Prosthetic‘ was the first song we completed during the ‘Virus‘ writing sessions and we always felt it would be the perfect opener for the album. It’s a very guitar heavy track with its roots in 80s thrash riffing, but with the unconventional rhythmic twists and turns we often like to explore in Haken. We sadly never had a Jeff Hanneman and Robert Fripp collaboration, but this song at least draws on inspiration from them both!

- Advertisement -

Lyrically the song is a bridge between our two albums ‘Vector‘ and ‘Virus‘. The message was brilliantly brought to life by video director Vicente Cordero, who also beautifully captured the live energy of the band in a way that both enhances the song, and perfectly sets the scene for what’s to come.”

Drummer Ray Hearne added:

“Since releasing ‘The Mountain‘ in 2013, one question has been asked of us time and time again, ‘who is the Cockroach King?’. This is something we were interested in exploring more deeply too, so we essentially did that through our music; elaborating and expanding upon the intervallic, harmonic, rhythmic and lyrical themes of that song. The end result is in an arc which spans across two albums: ‘Vector‘ and ‘Virus‘.”

Adam “Nolly” Getgood of Periphery, etc. fame mixed the outing, which you can pre-order here. The track listing runs as follows:

01 – “Prosthetic
02 – “Invasion
03 – “Carousel
04 – “The Strain
05 – “Canary Yellow
06 – “Messiah Complex I: Ivory Tower
07 – “Messiah Complex II: A Glutton For Punishment
08 – “Messiah Complex III: Marigold
09 – “Messiah Complex IV: The Sect
10 – “Messiah Complex V: Ectobius Rex
11 – “Only Stars