Brian PosehnSeth Olenick

Slipknot, Fall Out Boy, Anthrax, Soundgarden, Etc. Members Set For Brian Posehn’s New Comedy Metal Album


Actor, comedian, etc. Brian Posehn has shared some more details regarding his forthcoming new comedy metal album, “Grandpa Metal“. Sessions for the album were produced, engineered and mixed by Jay Ruston (Anthrax, Stone Sour) with the following guest musicians now confirmed for the outing:

Brendon Small (‘Metalocalypse‘, Dethklok)
Scott Ian (Anthrax)
Corey Taylor (Slipknot/Stone Sour)
Jonathan Donais (Anthrax
Gary Holt (Exodus, ex-Slayer)
Jeff Pilson (Dokken)
Alex Skolnick (Testament)
Chuck Billy (Testament)
“Weird” Al Yankovic
Pearl Aday
Johan Hegg (Amon Amarth)
Joe Trohman (Fall Out Boy, The Damned Things)
Patrick Stump (Fall Out Boy)
Michael Starr (Steel Panther)
Jacob Bunton (Mars Electric)
Rob Cavestany (Death Angel)
Aiden Cavestany (Death Angel)
Steve “Zetro” Souza (Exodus)
Kim Thayil (Soundgarden)
Phil Demmel (Vio-lence, ex-Machine Head)
Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal (ex-Guns N’ Roses)
Jill Janus (Huntress)

Posehn commented of the outing:

“The original concept for this album came from bands like Scatterbrain and S.O.D., and even Cheech and Chong. They all made music that was fun and funny, heavy music that also made you laugh.

I wanted this to be the ultimate comedy/metal record, a loving record that made fun of some of the things in heavy metal, so I called all my friends and asked for a bunch of favors.

There’s a Satan song, and there’s a Viking song, there’s one song that sounds like Black Metal, and then there’s one that sounds like a Van Halen party song. The intention was just to make a funny metal/comedy record for people who like both of those things.”

He later added:

“This was such a dream project for me. I wanted to take my time, I wanted it to be perfect, so it took us six years to complete. It’s the ‘Chinese Democracy‘ of comedy-metal records. And it didn’t cost thirteen million dollars to make.”

The full album credits run as follows:

01 – “Intro To Satan” (feat. Jacob Bunton)
02 – “Satan’s Kind Of A Dick” (feat. Scott Ian & Gary Holt)
03 – “Scary Nightmare
04 – “One Quarter Viking, Three Quarter’s Pussy” (feat. Scott Ian, Jon Donais & Johan Hegg)
05 – “Big Fat Rock” (feat. Joe Trohman, Phil Demmel)
06 – “My Phone Call With Weird Al” (feat. “Weird” Al Yankovic)
07 – “Take On Me” (A-ha cover) (feat. Jill Janus, Chuck Billy, Brendon Small, Steve “Zetro” Souza, Rob Cavestany & Aiden Cavestany)
08 – “Grandpa Metal” (feat. Scott Ian & Kim Thayil)
09 – “New Music Sucks” (feat. Patrick Stump)
10 – “New Music Sucks Reprise” (feat. Joe Trohman)
11 – “Goblin Love” (feat. Scott Ian, Brendon Small & Jill Janus)
12 – “Monster Mosh” (feat. Joe Trohman, Bumblefoot and Pearl Aday)
13 – “The Fox (What Does The Fox Say?)” (Ylvis cover) (feat. Corey Taylor and Michael Starr)
14 – “Super Secret Track

The collaborative cover of the A-ha‘s “Take On Me” was released as the first single from the release and can be heard below. The album itself will be out on February 14th.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch