BaronessRoss Halfin

Baroness Set June Release For New Album “Gold & Grey”, Debut “Borderlines” Music Video


Baroness‘ new studio album “Gold & Grey” has officially been set for a June 14th release through the band’s Abraxan Hymns label. Recording sessions for the outing were overseen by producer Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Mogwai), whom the band also worked with on their latest release, “Purple“. Along with news of the record comes a video for the studio version of their new track “Borderlines” which they debuted live last week. Pre-orders for the record have also now been launched online and can be found here.

The group’s vocalist/guitarist John Baizley commented of this forthcoming record:

“Our goal is, was, and will always be to write increasingly superior, more honest and compelling songs, and to develop a more unique and challenging sound. I’m sure we have just finished our best, most adventurous album to date. We dug incredibly deep, challenged ourselves and recorded a record I’m positive we could never again replicate.

I consider myself incredibly fortunate to know Sebastian, Nick and Gina as both my bandmates and my friends. They have pushed me to become a better songwriter, musician and vocalist. We’re all extremely excited for this release, which includes quite a few ‘firsts’ for the band, and we’re thrilled to be back on tour to play these psychotic songs for our fans. Expect some surprises.”

Drummer Sebastian Thomson added:

“On ‘Gold & Grey‘ we have taken some unexpected paths on a labyrinthine sonic adventure. We accepted sounds and styles that have not appeared on previous Baroness albums, and I’m excited to welcome our fans into our new lair.”

Guitarist Gina Gleason also chimed in:

“Having the chance to create music without any preconceived boundaries was both liberating and intimidating. As we pushed past our fear and comfort zone, the four of us connected in a way that allowed us to create freely, uplift one another and build the unique sonic world that is ‘Gold & Grey‘.

As a longtime Baroness listener, it is exciting to have created something new while still maintaining a deep love and understanding of the band’s roots. To say that the making of this record was quite a journey would be an understatement. We are beyond excited to share this experience and music with everyone!”

The track listing for the album will run as follows:

01 – “Front Toward Enemy
02 – “I’m Already Gone
03 – “Seasons
04 – “Sevens
05 – “Tourniquet
06 – “Anchor’s Lament
07 – “Throw Me An Anchor
08 – “I’d Do Anything
09 – “Blankets Of Ash
10 – “Emmett-Radiating Light
11 – “Cold Blooded Angels
12 – “Crooked Mile
13 – “Broken Halo
14 – “Can Oscura
15 – “Borderlines
16 – “Assault On East Falls
17 – “Pale Sun

You can catch the group out now on this tour with Deafheaven and Zeal & Ardor.

View this post on Instagram


Here is the full cover painting for our new album, Gold & Grey. This is just the first piece of a much larger puzzle. Like the forthcoming album itself, it is the result of an intense, tireless, and psychotically convoluted creative process. Both artistically and musically, Baroness have always taken a no compromise approach towards our releases, and I can’t express strongly enough how excited we are to be so close to the verge of our newest release. This painting was born from a deeply personal reflection on the past 12 years of this band’s history, and will stand as the 6th and final piece in our chromatically-themed records. It has been an absolutely wild ride, a truth much stranger than fiction, with nearly as many low points as there have been highs, but throughout all, this band has offered me an inspired place to express myself and find some level of comfort through our visual and sonic output. I hope you all enjoy this album cover (sorry it’s not called Orange). Don’t look too closely, you might just see all the hidden elements. We want to thank everyone for your heartfelt support over the years, it means the world to us. We also appreciate your continued patience. Gold & Grey will be out soon, and then the real fun begins. I assure you, we have no plans to slow down anytime soon. ????????? ’Til the wheels fall off – – – Roy G. Biv

A post shared by Baroness (@yourbaroness) on

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch