Silverstein Re-Record Early Material For “Redux: The First Ten Years”


Silverstein have re-recorded 12 songs from the first ten years of their career and will release them on April 12th as “Redux: The First 10 Years“. The band plan to independently release the so-called “sonic update” of these older tracks. The band individually commented on the experience of revisiting these songs, read on for their thoughts:

Vocalist Shane Told:

- Advertisement -

“The goal was to update the recordings and make them sound the best they can—not change the songs from what has made them resonate with people for so long. You’re going to hear the clarity and dynamics in a new way, but the magic of the original songs is kept intact. It’s going to be fun for fans to crank these up and really hear the songs the way they were meant to be heard.”

“We chose the songs that we thought needed the most in terms of a sound update, and also which songs have spoken to our fans the most. Re-recording ‘Bleeds No More,’ a song I wrote in my bedroom 17 years ago, was a very cool experience as well, as was remembering the entire ‘Discovering The Waterfront‘ recording experience.”

Drummer Paul Koehler:

“I remember writing these songs in basements, demoing them with friends, and testing them on the road. Starting as a hobby, then given the opportunity to fulfill a dream, and all of sudden finding myself in the middle of a real music career. These songs are a cross-section from the early material that helped define our band, along with my own life.”

Guitarist Josh Bradford:

“After so many years, it’s a lot of fun for me to revisit these old albums and be transported back in time to when we were creating them. Even through the rose-colored lens of nostalgia, it’s hard not to notice how much recording technology has changed and how much we have grown as musicians in the time since. With this in mind, we’ve decided to give a selection of our favorite tunes a sonic update. These songs clearly mean a lot to people, so we’ve tried our very best to honor the original recordings while making them sound more modern and polished.”

Guitarist Paul Marc Rousseau:

“These updated versions breathe new life into songs I’ve loved for as long as I can remember. Our goal was to put some polish on old performances while staying faithful to the original arrangements, and though it was challenging deciphering some of the forgotten and buried parts. I had a great time doing it.”

Bassist Billy Hamilton:

“The great thing about this collection is that it’s not just mine, it’s not just Silverstein‘s. It’s yours, it’s all of ours, and this is our chance to revisit our cherished songs, memories and feelings.”

The track listing for “Redux: The First 10 Years” runs as follows:

01 – “Smashed Into Pieces
02 – “Smile In Your Sleep
03 – “American Dream
04 – “Bleeds No More
05 – “My Heroine
06 – “Vices
07 – “Your Sword vs My Dagger
08 – “If You Could See Into My Soul
09 – “Giving Up
10 – “Still Dreaming” (Acoustic)
11 – “Red Light Pledge
12 – “Call It Karma

Pre-orders are available now at

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch