Devin Townsend

Devin Townsend Unveils Details For New Album “Empath”


Devin Townsend‘s new album “Empath” has officially been set for a March 29th release date on InsideOut Music. Townsend spoke of the upcoming record, issuing the following statement:

“Hello everybody, this is Devin Townsend and I would like to formally announce that after almost a year and a half of working, I have finished ‘Empath‘. Now this record has taken me down a lot of very interesting psychological and technical avenues and the process was documented from the very get-go by a series of documentary videos that I have done, that outline everything from the gestation of the idea to the actualisation of it, through all the existential ups and downs that went on.

- Advertisement -

As such this record is different to any record that I have released thus far, and trying to get people on board for what it is versus what it isn’t, I think needs to be dealt with in a different way. Stay tuned for the making of Empath – the video series.”

An introduction to that video series can be found below. Meanwhile, Townsend enlisted numerous guest musicians to help him realize his vision for the album, including:

  • Mike Keneally
  • Morgan Ågren (Mats And Morgan, Frank Zappa, Fredrik Thordendal)
  • Anup Sastry (ex-Monuments/Periphery)
  • Samus Paulicelli (Decrepit Birth, Abigail Williams)
  • Nathan Navarro
  • Elliot Desagnes
  • Steve Vai
  • Chad Kroeger (Nickelback)
  • Anneke Van Giersbergen
  • Ché Aimee Dorval
  • Ryan Dhale
  • Elektra Women’s Choir

The album will be released in various formats, including a limited edition 2-CD digipak which will sport an extra disc of bonus material. Here’s how record will run:

01 – “Castaway
02 – “Genesis
03 – “Spirits Will Collide
04 – “Evermore
05 – “Sprite
06 – “Hear Me
07 – “Why
08 – “Borderlands
09 – “Requiem
10 – “Singularity Part 1 – Adrift
11 – “Singularity Part 2 – I Am I
12 – “Singularity Part 3 – There Be Monsters
13 – “Singularity Part 4 – Curious Gods
14 – “Singularity Part 5 – Silicon Scientists
15 – “Singularity Part 6 – Here Comes The Sun


View this post on Instagram



A post shared by Devin Townsend (@dvntownsend) on

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch