Graf Orlock

Graf Orlock To Release New Album “Examination Of Violent Cinema, Volume 1” In December


Graf Orlock‘s fourth full-length album “Examination Of Violent Cinema, Volume 1“, will meet a December 07th release through the band’s own Vitriol Records. Switching gears this time around, the album takes inspiration from films that were released in 2017 with ‘John Wick 2‘ and “Blade Runner 2049‘ being apparent examples.

A statement printed in the album’s artwork itself was provided via a press release and reads as follows:

- Advertisement -

“A testament to the rigor mortis of the vapid film industry… Inspired by a dearth of good 2017 films, Examination finds Graf Orlock in fine classic form; basing the entirety of this new release on twelve violent 2017 movies commingled with haphazard and bizarre ideas laid over pointlessly confrontational lyrical content.

Contained therein is not only commentary on the weak and prosaic state of the last decades’ endlessly recycled and not-nearly-violent-enough releases, but also the question of how one could even contemplate the creation of ‘art’ in a landscape so devoid of vision. If there will never again be the singularity of almost-politicism and almost-social commentary that was the beauty of 1987’s Predator, should we continue to push this same human-sized ball of celluloid and shit interminably up the same hill?”

The band also went all-in on the LP packaging for the release, with guitarist/vocalist Jason Schmidt describing it as being “a body bag containing a fully-sealed LP jacket with perforations in a triangle like an autopsied corpse… you have to rip open the perforations to get into the record and get it out.”

Recording sessions for the effort took place with Kris Hilbert at Legitimate Business in Greensboro, NC with Hilbert also taking on the mixing and mastering duties. It will feature the following track listing:

01 – “Back In The Ground
02 – “Alternate Route To Mexico
03 – “Dominant Species
04 – “He Jumped Off A Roof
05 – “Steps To Eggroom
06 – “A Man Named Suicide
07 – “Five Star General
08 – “Go Away (To Paradise)
09 – “Minimum Freedom
10 – “Extreme Measures
11 – “Rooftop Anarchy
12 – “Almost Human

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch