Soulfly Detail New Album “Ritual”, Stream “Evil Empowered”


An October 19th release date has been confirmed for Soulfly‘s eleventh studio album “Ritual” via Nuclear Blast Entertainment. The band recorded that effort with producer Josh Wilbur (Lamb Of God, Gojira), who also took on the mixing duties. “Evil Empowered” serves as the first single from the opus and you can check it out below.

Lamb Of God vocalist Randy Blythe and Immolation bassist/vocalist Ross Dolan are among the album’s guests with the track listing and cover art (done by Eliran Kantor) available at the bottom of this post. Speaking of the “Ritual“, the band’s mastermind, frontman/guitarist Max Cavalera commented:

- Advertisement -

“I am really stoked to be working again with two of my favorite artists, Eliran Kantor and Marcelo Vasco! The Ritual artwork is very mystic and captures the vibe of the album perfectly. For this one, we really tried to retain the groove of early Soulfly as well as my love for the heavy, fast stuff I’m into: like death and black metal and some hardcore.

Working with Josh Wilbur for Soulfly this time around has been amazing. He’s a huge fan and added a lot to the record. I would fight for the fast songs and he would always push me to add more groove. I think in the end we created a really cool mix of songs that covers a lot of ground in my career. Let the Ritual begin!”

The album’s producer/mixer Josh Wilbur commented:

“Before I had ever recorded a record, in my formidable years, Max released the holy trinity that was (at least to me) ‘Chaos A.D.‘, ‘Roots‘, and ‘Soulfly 1‘. I wanted to make a record that captured what I loved about those when I was growing up! Those records inspired me and introduced me to heavy metal.

Fast forward to now and I was given the opportunity to make the record I wanted as an fan! So I set up some mics, recorded some riffs, we banged on some galvanized metal, roto toms, djembes, and anything else we could get, then I told Max to ‘BRING DA SHIT’!”

You can pre-order the “Ritual” now at this location.

Soulfly - Ritual

01 – “Ritual
02 – “Dead Behind The Eyes” (feat. Randy Blythe)
03 – “The Summoning
04 – “Evil Empowered
05 – “Under Rapture” (feat. Ross Dolan)
06 – “Demonized
07 – “Blood On The Street
08 – “Bite The Bullet
09 – “Feedback!
10 – “Soulfly XI

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch