Sunflower Dead

Sunflower Dead Joined By Ex-Fear Factory & Starset Members, Reveal New Album Plans


Sunflower Dead have signed with Megadeth bassist David Ellefson‘s EMP Label Group. The group have a new album titled “C O M A” produced by Dave Fortman (Slipknot, Evanescence) lined up for an October 19th release via the label. Meanwhile, they have also welcomed Christian Olde Wolbers of Powerflo/ex-Fear Factory fame to their ranks as well as drummer Brian “Brett” Weir, formerly of Starset.

As you’ve likely noticed, the group have done away with the makeup and imagery that accompanied their earlier days. According to the band’s vocalist Michael Del Pizzo, the sound of the album reflects their newfound look:

- Advertisement -

“Though we are extremely proud of what we have accomplished on our own with the more theatrical version of the band, SFD has grown considerably. The entire process of writing and recording this album was fueled by a sense of aggression unlike anything in our previous output. It was clear to everyone involved that this was the moment to strip off the makeup, sign with a label and let the music speak for itself. So we did. And when it came down to it, EMP was definitely the right place.”

“We have known Thom [Hazaert] forever. He actually helped launch SFD’s first album and got us our first national tour back in 2012. Combine that with having David Ellefson on our side, and this was an easy decision.”

The band’s guitarist Jaboo added:

“The music on C O M A is more focused, vicious and emotionally dialed in than any of our previous work. This record is like the rebirth of the band similar to what Christopher Nolan did with the Batman saga. That rebirth is that much stronger with the addition of Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory, Poweflo) on bass and Brian “Brett” Weir (Downplay, Starset) on drums.”

Touring this fall is planned with dates to come.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch