The Agony Scene

The Agony Scene Set July Release For New Album, Premiere “Hand Of The Divine” Music Video


The Agony Scene have premiered their new song “Hand Of The Divine” via the below music video. The single comes from the band’s first new album since 2007, “Tormentor“. Outerloop Records/Cooking Vinyl will handle the upcoming July 20th release of that effort, with pre-orders up now at this location. Speaking further on the album and the track itself, the band’s guitarist Chris Emmons commented:

“There is an underlying theme to much of the record, and that is the idea of an insane, manipulative creator, a ‘Tormentor‘ of all mankind, if you will. The lyrics also touch on the idea that an unquestioning belief in such a creator and an infallible doctrine can lead to a more chaotic and dark world in many cases.

Hand Of The Divine‘ was written about the Rubio murders that took place in Brownsville, Texas in 2003. These murders occurred as a result of a man who believed that his three children were possessed by demons. The video for ‘Hand Of The Divine‘ follows along the theme of an insane creator, but does have some loose parallels with the Rubio murders.

It tells the story of ‘The Binding of Isaac’ that can be found in the texts of the Abrahamic religions. This story finds god demanding Abraham to sacrifice his son as an offering, proving his love and obedience. An insane and criminal act by modern standards and law. The story is portrayed a bit loosely, taking interpretations from multiple texts.”

Summer touring plans are currently being finalized with an announcement planned soon.

The Agony Scene - Tormentor

01 – “Awakening
02 – “Hand Of The Divine
03 – “Like The Weeds In The Field
04 – “The Ascent And Decline
05 – “The Submissive
06 – “The Apostate
07 – “Mouthpiece
08 – “Tormentor
09 – “Serpent’s Tongue
10 – “Mechanical Breath

[via Revolver]

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch