Act Of Defiance

Act Of Defiance Share New Song “M.I.A.”, September Release Date Set For New Album


Act Of Defiance‘s new album, “Old Scars, New Wounds“, has been slated for a September 29th release date on Metal Blade Records. The group unite current/former members of Megadeth, Scar The Martyr and Shadows Fall while Dave Otero (Cattle Decapitation, Allegaeon) produced this latest opus. An official press release shed some more light on the album:

“The title – plucked from the blistering track ‘Conspiracy Of The Gods‘ – stands as a metaphor for life in general, and the breadth of lyrical matter covered is as broad as the styles of heavy music found on the record. ‘Another Killing Spree‘ looks at hardcore drug use, while ‘Lullaby Of Vengeance‘ is an angry song about singing angry lyrics, and ‘Overexposure‘ is an anthem dedicated to not selling out. There is also some very topical material, most notably on ‘Mis-Information Age‘ and ‘Broken Dialect‘.

Mis-Information Age‘ is very applicable in today’s social climate, where we can no longer blindly trust the source of facts that determine our view,” Broderick explains. ‘It asserts that we should be skeptical, making sure we have the truth and not someone’s propaganda, while ‘Broken Dialect‘ conveys the idea that people can no longer hold a conversation with each other where their views differ, instead turning to sources that only support the view they want to hold on to.’

With every track featuring a blistering solo from Broderick, fans of his shredding can rest assured that the guitarist has not held back – though that was not his initial intention. ‘I actually wanted to tone it down a bit technically in terms of my solos, but the opposite happened! This was because I inadvertently ended up creating a few new techniques to use in my trick bag and saw their potential, so I worked really hard on the execution so they could make the record.'”

You can pre-order the album now via, with a video for the opening track “M.I.A.” available below. “Old Scars, New Wounds” will run as follows:

01 – “M.I.A.
02 – “Molten Core
03 – “Overexposure
04 – “The Talisman
05 – “Lullaby Of Vengeance
06 – “Circle Of Ashes
07 – “Reborn
08 – “Conspiracy Of The Gods
09 – “Another Killing Spree
10 – “Broken Dialect
11 – “Rise Of Rebellion

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch