Enslaved Share Details For New Album “E”


Enslaved have officially announced an October 13th release date through Nuclear Blast for their new album “E“. The effort will be the band’s first with keyboardist/clean vocalist Håkon Vinje. Confirmed guest musicians include Einar Kvitrafn Selvik of Wardruna as well as flutist Daniel Mage and jazz saxophonist Kjetil Møster. Guitarist Ivar Bjørnson said of the album:

“The concept of the album lies in both it’s meaning as a letter in the latin alphabet, and it’s runic reference: the rune ‘Ehwaz’, that is depicted as an ‘M’ when drawn as rune (just to make sure it gets really confusing) – the runes are drawn to look like what they literally mean. Ehwaz (pronounced and used as what’s known as E, but drawn as an ‘M’) looks like and means ‘horse’.

- Advertisement -

Which is closely linked to its esoteric meaning; which is ‘trust’ and ‘co-operation’. One of mankind’s oldest and deepest pairings/collaborations with any “outside” entities is with the horse. When they were first tamed and utilised there must have arisen the notion of some esoteric link between the two; now we could move swiftly, escape faster and even eat and drink from the animal (both horse milk and horse blood), and of course show off and brag before our enemies and peers with the most spectacular horses.

So, no, it is not about horses! It is about the symbioses that surrounds us; which are vital to our existence, to our development – on all scales: man and vessel (for instance horse, yes), a person and its significant other, child and parent, musician and instrument, chaos and order, subconscious and conscious, Oden and Sleipnir – wisdom and communication. There are many levels and variations of this concept on the album; the duality of man and nature, present and past personalities within one self, the conscious fear and the subconscious drive. And other symbiosis.”

Pre-orders for the album are live now at Notably the digipak edition featuring a bonus cover of electronic music duo Röyksopp. The cover art and track listing for the album can be found below with the opening track “Storm Son” slated to premiere online this Friday, August 11th.

Enslaved - E

01 – “Storm Son
02 – “The River’s Mouth
03 – “Sacred Horse
04 – “Axis Of The Worlds
05 – “Feathers Of Eolh
06 – “Hiindsiight
07 – “Djupet” (digipak bonus track)
08 – “What Else Is There?” (Röyksopp cover) (digipak bonus track)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch