Stick To Your Guns

Stick To Your Guns Detail New Album “True View”, Stream “The Sun, The Moon, The Truth: Penance Of Self


Stick To Your Guns have announced an October 13th release date for their sixth full-length album, “True View“, which will arrive through Pure Noise. You can hear a new track from it titled “The Sun, The Moon, The Truth: Penance Of Self” below. Frontman Jesse Barnett commented of the track:

“Something I see in a lot of people, including almost everyone of my peers, is the inability to be honest with oneself. Everyone thinks they’re right. Everyone can’t seem to get a grip on the reality of being self-aware. I was this way and I’m sure I still can be. I was an incredibly selfish person who did whatever I felt like doing. I would leave a trail of destruction everywhere I went and my loved ones would always give me the pass — ‘Oh well, that’s Jesse.’

- Advertisement -

I came to a point where I realized no one is going to keep me accountable for my actions but myself. I lost some of the most important things in my life these last few years and I had nowhere left to hide. I had to face my fire. I had to finally, for fucking once, live with the hurt I created. I had to own my mistakes and it’s been the heaviest weight I’ve ever had to carry.”

Barnett also spoke of the album itself:

“‘True View‘ was inspired by innumerable conversations that I had with my mother during the hardest couple of years I’ve had in my life. The people I lost in my life, the mental and physical challenges I faced, as well as losing myself. I don’t know if it was getting older or the foundation I had built my life on cracking beneath my feet or a mixture of everything. I had just hit a point where I was forced to take inventory of who I was. Truly. Not the person I thought I was or the person I wanted to be, but the actual person I was.

I had to face my own pain and the pain I caused others. In this time, much like my entire life, my mother was my guiding light. Through the patience, advice and guidance she offered me, I was able to navigate to a place of enlightenment or at the very least a place of better understanding. I’m still not the person I hope to one day be but I now feel confident in myself to make decisions and guide myself to that place of peace within myself. Regardless of how anyone feels about this record, all I can say it that it was necessary. It had to be written and I’m glad it was.”

Guitarist Josh James also commented:

“Anyone who is familiar with Stick To Your Guns is aware that our music, lyrics, message, and existence is a reflection of our inner selves processing the world we live in. Selfishly, I have always used this band as a source of therapy, as well as a source of understanding different perspectives.

I really wanted to intentionally create an album that sonically reflects the feeling of modern life: depression, anger, fear, hope, happiness, forgiveness and clarity. A feeling of breaking through the dark shit in life and the journey of the struggle that ends up elevating you to a new, smarter, stronger, better version of yourself.

Things really clicked when Jesse started tracking vocals. The lyrics and feeling he put into each song constantly blew me away, his words were the perfect fit to the songs. I’ve created a lot of music in my life, but right now I can’t help but feel that ‘True View‘ is the album I’ve always wanted to be part of.”

Pre-orders for the album have been launched here.

Stick To Your Guns - True View

01 – “3 Feet From Peace
02 – “The Sun, The Moon, The Truth: Penance Of Self
03 – “Married To The Noise
04 – “Delinelle
05 – “Cave Canem
06 – “56
07 – “The Inner Authority: Realization Of Self
08 – “You Are Free
09 – “Doomed By You
10 – “The Better Days Before Me
11 – “Owed Nothing
12 – “Through The Chain Link
13 – “The Reach for Me: Forgiveness Of Self

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch