River BlackScott Kinkade

River Black (Ex-Burnt By The Sun, Etc.) Detail New Album, Debut “Low”


River Black have premiered their new track “Low” below via Lambgoat off their forthcoming self-titled debut album, due out July 07th on Season Of Mist. The band reunites former Burnt By The Sun members Mike Olender (vocals), guitarist John Abudato and drummer Dave Witte. Revocation bassist Brett Bamberger rounds out the lineup. The band tracked the outing at Trax East in South River, NJ with producer Eric Rachel (Municipal Waste, God Forbid). Olender said of the new track:

“‘Low‘ is an expression of horror at how religion can become twisted and manipulated by charlatans and demagogues. It was inspired by a news report I heard about a journalist who spent some time with the now-deceased Isis leader “Johnny Jihad”. It revealed how this man used brutality with the purpose of inspiring others with similarly twisted minds.

- Advertisement -

He used videos of his actions as recruiting tools. I was struck by the thought that there are people out there who not only wouldn’t be repelled by these horrific videos, but actually excited and inspired by the images of this man gleefully sawing off the heads of the orange-clad victims kneeling before him. Faiths have always had these characters throughout history, but it is surreal to realize we are living in such dark historic times.”

The Ellie Gill drawn cover art and track listing for the album run as follows:

River Black - River Black

01 – “Jaws
02 – “Honor
03 – “Low
04 – “Shipwreck
05 – “River Black
06 – “South x South
07 – “Boat
08 – “Move
09 – “#Victim
10 – “Haunt
11 – “Sink
12 – “Everywhere

Mastodon drummer/vocalist Brann Dailor is expected to guest on an as yet unspecified track. Pre-orders are available now at this location.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch