Atticus Ross & Trent Reznor

Nine Inch Nails Announce New EP “Not The Actual Events”, “The Fragile: Deviations 1” Set & More


Trent Reznor promised new Nine Inch Nails would arrive before the year’s end and he’s about to deliver. He has just announced a new EP from the band called “Not The Actual Events” will hit stores next Friday, December 23rd. It features the tracks:

Nine Inch Nails - Not The Actual Events

01 – “Branches/Bones
02 – “Dear World.
03 – “She’s Gone Away
04 – “The Idea Of You
05 – “Burning Bright (Field Of Dreams)

Interestingly longtime collaborator Atticus Ross has graduated to a full-time member of the band for the outfit. Reznor said of the EP:

“It’s an unfriendly, fairly impenetrable record that we needed to make. It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

Also newly announced was an upcoming four LP set titled, “The Fragile: Deviations 1“, which is comprised of various instrumental, alternate takes and such from the band’s 1999 release, “The Fragile“. That set will only be made available via a one-time vinyl pressing. Reznor said of that:

“‘The Fragile‘ occupies a very interesting and intimate place in my heart. I was going through a turbulent time in my life when making it and revisiting it has become a form of therapy for me. As an experiment, I removed all the vocals from the record and found it became a truly changed experience that worked on a different yet compelling level. ‘The Fragile: Deviations 1‘ represents Atticus and I embellishing the original record with a number of tracks from those sessions we didn’t use before. The result paints a complimentary but different picture we wanted to share.”

Currently pre-orders for both of the aforementioned releases, as well as ‘definitive editions “The Fragile“, “The Downward Spiral” and “Broken“, are available via All of those releases are scheduled for the spring. Reznor commented:

“We want to present the catalog as it was intended to be, with no compromises. That means a careful remastering of the audio from the original sources, a painstaking recreation of the artwork, pristine materials, some surprises and an insane attention to detail that you probably won’t notice…but it matters to us. No extra bullshit and gimmicks – the ‘real’ records in their truest form.”

The track listing for “The Fragile: Deviations 1” runs as follows:

Side 1A
01 – “Somewhat Damaged” (Instrumental)
02 – “The Day the World Went Away” (Instrumental)
03 – “The Frail” (Alternate Version)
04 – “The Wretched” (Instrumental)

Side 1B
01 – “Missing Places
02 – “We’re in This Together” (Instrumental)
03 – “The Fragile” (Instrumental)
04 – “Just Like You Imagined” (Alternate Version)
05 – “The March” (Instrumental

Side 2A
01 – “Even Deeper” (Instrumental)
02 – “Pilgrimage” (Alternate Version)
03 – “One Way to Get There
04 – “No, You Don’t” (Instrumental)
05 – “Taken

Side 2B
01 – “La Mer” (Alternate Version)
02 – “The Great Below” (Instrumental)
03 – “Not What It Seems Like” (Instrumental)
04 – “White Mask
05 – “The New Flesh” (Instrumental)

Side 3A
01 – “The Way is Out Through” (Alternate Version)
02 – “Into the Void” (Instrumental)
03 – “Where is Everybody?” (Instrumental)
04 – “The Mark Has Been Made” (Alternate Version)

Side 3B
01 – “Was It Worth It?” (Instrumental)
02 – “Please” (Instrumental)
03 – “+Appendage” (Instrumental)
04 – “Can I Stay Here?” (Instrumental)
05 – “10 Miles High” (Instrumental)

Side 4A
01 – “Feeders
02 – “Starfuckers, Inc.” (Instrumental)
03 – “Complication” (Alternate Version)
04 – “Claustrophobia Machine” (Raw)
05 – “Last Heard From

Side 4B
01 – “I’m Looking Forward to Joining You, Finally” (Instrumental)
02 – “The Big Come Down” (Instrumental)
03 – “Underneath It All” (Instrumental)
04 – “Ripe with Decay” (Instrumental)

Pre-orders are running now on

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch