The Agonist - My Witness, Your Victim

The Agonist Detail New Album, Premiere “The Chain”


The Agonist‘s new full-length album, “Five“, will arrive in stores on September 30th through Napalm Records. A stream of the first single for it, “The Chain“, can be taken in below while pre-orders are up now at this location. Guitarist Danny Marino had the following to say of the album:

“We are so anxious to release this record to our fans and the rest of the world! This album represents another shift in the evolution of The Agonist! Vicky and I went even deeper into what makes a song really connect. I’m very proud of everyone’s hard work making this the most diverse and interesting record for us to date!

- Advertisement -

It was a great learning experience working with Mike Plotnikoff and fully immersing ourselves in the recording process 24/7. Just as much as we are excited to release this album we are psyched to get back out on the road and connect directly with our fans! Europe gets the first taste before we unleash on North America this November with Epica.”

Vocalist Vicky Psarkis added:

“Being in The Agonist for over 2 years now and after releasing my debut album with the band and numerous tours, I can say that ‘Five‘ is the record where I believe that we finally found our sound! There’s a certain confidence that comes with experience and there’s something about being fully comfortable that can take your approach towards songwriting to a whole other level.

Working on the lyrics and vocals on this album was an incredibly natural process. Halfway into the pre-production, we realized that a lot of our songs seemed to be telling a story and hearing the album in its entirety is like escaping into our world.”

The Agonist - Five

01 – “The Moment
02 – “The Chain
03 – “The Anchor And The Sail
04 – “The Game
05 – “The Ocean
06 – “The Hunt
07 – “The Raven Eyes
08 – “The Wake
09 – “The Resurrection
10 – “The Villain
11 – “The Pursuit Of Emptiness
12 – “The Man Who Fell To Earth
13 – “The Trial
14 – “Take Me To Church” (Hozier cover) (bonus edition only)

Dates for the band’s forthcoming tour with Epica, Fleshgod Apocalypse and Arkona can be found here.