Faith No More To Release Deluxe Edition Of “We Care A Lot”


Faith No More‘s 1985 debut album, “We Care A Lot“, will be given a deluxe reissue on August 19th through band bassist Billy Gould‘s own Koolarrow Records. Maor Appelbaum remastered the album for the re-release, which also features nine bonus tracks. Keyboardist Roddy Bottum has chipped in new liner notes, while new behind the scenes photos will also be included with the physical copies. Original Faith No More frontman Chuck Mosley reflected on the album:

“With ‘We Care A Lot‘, I always felt like I was part of something new and different than anything else out there at the time. It made me feel privileged to be a part of it. The other guys were so cool, and there was so much camaraderie. And that came across in the music; Bordin’s drums battling it out with Billy’s bass in antagonistic harmony, Roddy’s melodic atmosphere, swallowed up by Jim’s crunchy metal riffs. I found my place somewhere between them all, and when the album was finished, it didn’t sound like anything else.”

Gould added:

“This was an album that started as a demo, before any label had any interest in us. There were a couple of reasons we decided to release this now: first of all, it’s been 20 years since it has been commercially available. Secondly, when cleaning out my basement, I discovered the original master reels, and we all thought that resurrecting this from the original tapes would be a great way to reintroduce ‘We Care A Lot‘ into the world. Lastly, this has been a band effort; we are releasing this in the same way as we recorded it, deciding everything amongst ourselves and getting our hands deep into the nuts and bolts… just like we used to.”

Keyboardist Roddy Bottum offered:

“When strangers ask what Faith No More is I’ve always said, ‘well, it’s kind of an art band…’ I say that mostly to distance us from the hard rock world that we’re often times lumped into. I mean, hard rock, sure, that was part of it, but our roots most definitely and pointedly stem from a specific freakout art time and place in San Francisco, a time that no longer exists. In 1982, the hippies mingled with the punks, the artists hung out with the musicians, the dance people and the punks were one and the Satanists and the sexual pioneers… all part of the same scene. That weird SF window provided a platform from which we were free to express and cultivate a really uniquely odd sound experience. In Los Angeles, no one really cared much, but SF was always super supportive, encouraging us, directly and not, to get our collective freak on.”

Drummer Mike Bordin went on to say:

“We felt like it was time to take the next step. We raised as much money as we were able and booked time at Prairie Sun Studios just north of San Francisco. I can’t remember how long it took us to record the album, but not a lot, maybe a few days. The songs were sharp from having played most of them at various shows. Very stripped down, basic as could be. The place was on a farm in chicken country (Petaluma). Hard work, but a ton of fun too.”

Pre-orders are available here (vinyl/cd,) and through iTunes.

Faith No More - We Care A Lot (Deluxe Band Edition)

01 – “We Care A Lot
02 – “The Jungle
03 – “Mark Bowen
04 – “Jim
05 – “Why Do You Bother
06 – “Greed
07 – “Pills For Breakfast
08 – “As The Worm Turns
09 – “Arabian Disco
10 – “New Beginnings
11 – “We Care A Lot” (2016 mix)
12 – “Pills for Breakfast” (2016 mix)
13 – “As The Worm Turns” (2016 mix)
14 – “Greed” (demo)
15 – “Mark Bowen” (demo)
16 – “Arabian Disco” (demo)
17 – “Intro” (demo)
18 – “The Jungle” (Live at I-Beam, SF, 1986)
19 – “New Beginnings” (Live at I-Beam, SF, 1986)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch