World Be Free

Terror, Strife, Judge, Envy, Etc. Members Form World Be Free, Stream Two Tracks


World Be Free is the name of a new supergroup featuring members and alumni of Terror (Scott Vogel,) Envy (Joe Garlipp,) Strife (Andrew Kline,) and Judge/Glassjaw, etc. (Sammy Siegler). The group have a new album titled “The Anti-Circle” set for a February release on Revelation and will be playing some shows behind it. Two songs from it can be found below. As for how the group came together, I’ll let the official press release do the talking:

“With a love and appreciation for classic hardcore music and the intent to create something new and refreshing, WORLD BE FREE was formed.

- Advertisement -

During the fall of 2014 Scott Vogel (Terror, Buried Alive), Joe Garlipp (Envy), Andrew Kline (Strife), and Sammy Siegler (Judge/CIV/Rival Schools) joined together to start WORLD BE FREE. The band set out with the goal of making music that was more melodic and positive than what some were used to playing. Music that wasn’t just about being the toughest or the angriest and where it was OK for guys and girls to sing along and smile. They worked on crafting a sound that leaned heavily on the inspiration of the classic hardcore and punk albums they all grew up on, while adding a modern twist that kept it new and fresh. The four got together to jam a few times a month and throughout the rest of the year they continued to meet up and write.

With no label, no real budget, and without anybody knowing what they were up to, the band decided still it was time to make a record. Sammy connected with an old friend at Hurley who gave them a few days of studio time in their space featuring a cool old Neve console. Still in need of a bass player, they called up Arthur Smilios (Gorilla Biscuits, CIV) in New York City. He flew to California for some sun to escape the cold East Coast winter and quickly learned the songs. The band went right to the studio to hit record.

The idea was to capture some energy, keep the good mistakes, and commit to full takes as much as possible, like many of the older hardcore albums WORLD BE FREE was referencing. Scott delivered the vocals later, working daily with Nick Jett (Terror) at his studio in Granada Hills, California. Once the album was complete, the stars aligned, and the band was able to secure a guest appearance from Walter Schreifels (Rival Schools, Quicksand, Gorilla Biscuits) on the song “I’m Done.”

Still in need of a band name, WORLD BE FREE was inspired by the basketball player Lloyd Free, who changed his name to World B. Free in 1981. He was quoted as saying, “I’ll say what I’m going to do, and then I’ll go out and do it.” He’s a total badass with a mission statement that we can all get behind, and honestly, who doesn’t want the world to be free?

While these five members of WORLD BE FREE are still active in Terror, Gorilla Biscuits, Strife, Judge and others, WORLD BE FREE is very much a priority—including playing live in 2016 in support of their debut release The Anti-Circle.”

World Be Free - The Anti-Circle

The Anti-Circle“:

01 – “World Be Free
02 – “Shake the Ghost
03 – “All These Colors
04 – “Empty Things
05 – “Never Slip
06 – “Breakout Or Busted
07 – “The Anti-Circle
08 – “I’m Done
09 – “What I See
10 – “Sammy’s Mirror
11 – “I Erase You
12 – “Of My World
13 – “Promises Made
14 – “Counting Vices

02/13 San Diego, CA – Che Cafe (feat. Give)
02/14 Pomona, CA – PBW (feat. Give)
02/15 Los Angeles, CA – TBA (feat. Give)
02/16 Fullerton, CA – Programme Skate Shop (feat. Give)
02/18 Buffalo, NY – Waiting Room (feat. Judge)
02/19 Philadelphia, PA – Voltage Lounge (feat. Judge)
02/20 Boston, MA – Middle East (feat. Judge)
02/21 Brooklyn, NY – St. Vitus

[song via]

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch