Baroness Debut New Song “Chlorine & Wine”, Set December Release For “Purple”


Baroness‘ next album will simply be titled “Purple” and will arrive in stores on December 18th through their own newly formed label home of Abraxan Hymns. Below you can watch an animated video for the track “Chlorine & Wine” from the effort. Recording sessions took place with producer Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, MGMT) at Tarbox Road Studios in Cassadaga, NY. Band frontman/guitarist John Baizley said of the album:

“After releasing a lengthy and investigative record like Yellow & Green we all felt that we needed to make something much more direct and immediate. We wanted to write with our normal focus on artistry, balanced against an increased level of energy and focus. It was important for us to write our new songs with the type of enthusiasm and expressiveness that could act as a counterpoint to the album’s dark themes.

- Advertisement -

As a result, the music came out in an intense, heavy and sonically captivating in a new way, which was important, loathe, as we are to fall into any kind of complacency pitfall or formulaic songwriting routine. Purple is the most fully realized representation of our intention as a band; considering the amount of physical and mental energy spent writing it, we have accomplished something which would have seemed impossible to us a couple of years ago.”

Pre-orders for the album are available here, as well as the other usual suspects.


01 – “Morningstar
02 – “Shock Me
03 – “Try To Disappear
04 – “Kerosene
05 – “Fugue
06 – “Chlorine & Wine
07 – “The Iron Bell
08 – “Desperation Burns
09 – “If I Have To Wake Up (Would You Stop The Rain)
10 – “Crossroads Of Infinity

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch