Refused Announce New Album “Freedom”, Debut Stream Of “Elektra”


Refused have announced a June 30th on Epitaph for their long-rumored new album “Freedom“. Even better, the group have premiered a new song from it by the name of “Elektra“, which you can hear below via Pitchfork. Pre-orders for the album—their first since 1998—can be found at A limited edition version of the album is also being offered at that location.

Writing for the new album began within the first four months of their 2012 reunion tour. Frontman Dennis Lyxzén said of the return:

- Advertisement -

“It’s not a reunion anymore. This is one of the most radical things we’ve ever done, both musically and lyrically.”

Drummer David Sandström added:

“Nobody wanted us to fuck with the image of the band who makes a great album and splits up. Nobody wanted us to dilute it. That actually provoked us.”

Production for “Freedom” was handled by Nick Launay (Nick Cave, Arcade Fire). Two tracks, “Elektra” &”366“, were co-writen with Shellback, who has helped Taylor Swift and Pink in a songwriting capacity in the past.

Refused - Freedom

01 – “Elektra
02 – “Old Friends / New War
03 – “Dawkins Christ
04 – “Françafrique
05 – “Thought Is Blood
06 – “War On The Palaces
07 – “Destroy The Man
08 – “366
09 – “Servants Of Death
10 – “Useless Europeans

Various touring is already lined up behind the album, including a North American headlining tour and another North American trek with Faith No More.

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch