Rest Among Ruins (Raunchy) Stream “Beyond The Storm”


Rest Among Ruins—who are fronted by Raunchy vocalist Mike Semesky (ex-Intervals/The HAARP Machine) have released a stream of their new song “Beyond The Storm“. That track will be part of a 14-song concept album titled “Fugue“, which the band will release next year. Semesky said of that:

“The album concept was inspired by the story of a fascinating patient I had the pleasure of meeting when I was working at a psychiatric hospital, back before I began pursuing my music career. This person’s extremely rare clinical condition was the unfortunate result of a severe traumatic incident, and it sparked a hauntingly fascinating journey in his life under a fictitious identity of which his mind had created. It was unlike any other case I’d ever heard of throughout my experience in the field.

- Advertisement -

Out of respect for rights and privacy, the album absolutely does not reveal names or any identifying details. The lyrics are written in first-person, stream of consciousness form, and shift in and out of his reality, dreams, and dissociation as the story progresses. The instrumentation of the album adapts stylistically to best compliment each chapter of the story, and explores a broad range of heavy and melodic metal, prog, and rock.

We hope you enjoy the first dose of our album and we can’t wait for you to experience the story in its entirety! Guitar playthrough videos, more new music, and release details are soon to come!”

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch