Bring Me The Horizon, Black Veil Brides, Of Mice & Men, Etc. Win At First ‘Alternative Press Music Awards’


The inaugural Alternative Press Music Awards were handed out today (July 21st) in a ceremony that took place at the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland, OH.  Musical highlights included Korn‘s Jonathan Davis joining Asking Alexandria onstage for a cover of Duran Duran‘s “Hungry Like The Wolf“, Falling In Reverse covering “Gangsta’s Paradise” complete with Coolio and Tyler Carter from Issues, Slash and Laura Jane Grace of Against Me! joining Joan Jett & The Blackhearts and Andy Biersack of Black Veil Brides teaming with the Misfits.

Here’s who took home the fan-voted awards.

- Advertisement -

Alternative Press Vanguard Award (non-voted): Billy Corgan of Smashing Pumpkins

Alternative Press Icon Award (non-voted): Joan Jett

Alternative Press Guitar Legend (non-voted): Slash

Artist Of The Year Presented by Monster Energy Drink:

Winner: Fall Out Boy

Other nominees:

A Day To Remember
Avenged Sevenfold
Black Veil Brides
Bring Me The Horizon
Of Mice & Men
Panic! At The Disco
Pierce The Veil
Sleeping With Sirens

Album Of The Year presented by Journeys:

Winner: Bring Me The Horizon • Sempiternal

Other nominees:

A Day To Remember • Common Courtesy
Avenged Sevenfold • Hail To The King
Black Veil Brides • Wretched And Divine: The Story Of The Wild Ones
Fall Out Boy • Save Rock And Roll
Paramore • Paramore
Sleeping With Sirens • Feel
Touché Amoré • Is Survived By
twenty one pilots • Vessel
The Wonder Years • The Greatest Generation

Artist Philanthropic Award Presented by Sub City / Take Action:

Winner: All Time Low — Skate4Cancer

Other nominees:

Memphis May Fire — peta2
Modern Baseball — 1BlueString
Pierce The Veil — The Keep A Breast foundation
Rise Against — Shirts For A Cure
The Used — Living The Dream Foundation

Best Live Band:

Winner: Pierce The Veil

Other nominees:

A Day To Remember
All Time Low
Asking Alexandria
Fall Out Boy
twenty one pilots

Breakthrough Band:

Winner: Crown The Empire

Other nominees:

The Color Morale
The Story So Far
twenty one pilots

Song of the Year

Winner: All Time Low (feat. Vic Fuentes) • “A Love Like War

Other nominees:

Bring Me The Horizon • “Shadow Moses
Fall Out Boy • “My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark (Light Em Up)
Falling In Reverse • “Alone
Paramore • “Still Into You
Sleeping With Sirens (feat. Machine Gun Kelly • “Alone

Best International Band:

Winner: Bring Me The Horizon (U.K.)

Other nominees:

Asking Alexandria (U.K.)
Crossfaith (Japan)
Parkway Drive (Australia)
Silverstein (Canada)
Frank Turner (U.K.)

Most Dedicated Fans Presented by Fearless Records:

Winner: Black Veil Brides

Other nominees:

All Time Low
Avenged Sevenfold
Mayday Parade
My Chemical Romance
Pierce The Veil

Best Vocalist:

Winner: Brendon Urie (Panic! At The Disco)

Other nominees:

Andy Biersack (Black Veil Brides)
Vic Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)
Kellin Quinn (Sleeping With Sirens)
Oli Sykes (Bring Me The Horizon)
Hayley Williams (Paramore)

Best Guitarist:

Winner: Phil Manansala (Of Mice & Men)

Other nominees:

JB Brubaker (August Burns Red)
Synyster Gates (Avenged Sevenfold)
Jack O’Shea (Bayside)
Chris Rubey (The Devil Wears Prada)
Jacky Vincent (Falling In Reverse)

Best Bassist:

Winner: Jaime Preciado (Pierce The Veil)

Other nominees:

Jeremy Davis (Paramore)
Zack Merrick (All Time Low)
Ryan Neff (Miss May I)
Devin “Ghost” Sola (Motionless In White)
Pete Wentz (Fall Out Boy)

Best Drummer:

Winner: Mike Fuentes (Pierce The Veil)

Other nominees:

Jess Bowen (The Summer Set)
Josh Dun (twenty one pilots)
Matt Greiner (August Burns Red)
Luke Holland (The Word Alive)
Ryan Seaman (Falling In Reverse)

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch