Prong To Release New Album “Ruining Lives” In May, Prep ‘Record Store Day’ Single


Details have now officially been revealed for Prong‘s forthcoming album “Ruining Lives“. The bands own vocalist/guitarist Tommy Victor produced the effort with Steve Evetts (Hatebreed, Sepultura) apparently handling the mixing duties. Steamhammer/SPV will have the album out in North American on May 13th with a European release to take place in late April.

Victor himself said of the outing:

“This is the fastest written and recorded Prong-album ever and it has more great songs than any previous Prong-record. I am particularly proud of the vocal performance and I think we captured some outstanding sounds on this album.

There’s a little bit of a throwback element here. “Ruining Lives” is almost a “Force Fed” type of song. The album is a hybrid between NY Hardcore and some very modern, song oriented work. You will find some “Rude Awakening” but also some solid, crushing riffs. I feel we have captured the best elements of Prong on this album.

Come To Realize” is something new – we have never approached this kind of time-signature. It really is math-metal meets pure hardcore with a crazy-ass riff. What’s exciting about the whole album is you have your hooks, your riffs and something innovative that makes the album very current.

This qualifies as the hybrid nature of Prong: marrying post-punk, industrial metal, hardcore thrash and modern elements — all of that with hooks and not just a bunch of screaming.”

The album will be released as a standard edition, a limited edition digipak with a bonus track and poster and as a double gatefold vinyl with the same bonus track. Digital formats will also be offered. The track listing can be found below:

01 – “Turnover
02 – “The Barriers
03 – “Windows Shut
04 – “Remove, Separate Self
05 – “Ruining Lives
06 – “Absence Of Light
07 – “The Book Of Change
08 – “Self Will Run Riot
09 – “Come To Realize
10 – “Chamber Of Thought
11 – “Limitations And Validations
12 – “Retreat” (digipak/vinyl bonus track)

Prior to its release the band will issue a limited edition single for the new song “Turnover” for the 2014 ‘Record Store Day‘ (April 19th.) It will feature the aforementioned track on the a-side with the “Pig Remix” of “Revenge Best Served Cold” done by Raymond Watts as the b-side. It will be limited to a pressing of 3000 copies on green/white marbled vinyl. A digital single release for it will occur shortly after on April 21st.

Current Prong dates:

03/26 Essen, GER – Turock
03/27 Haarlem, NET – Patronaat
03/28 Roermond, NET – ECI Cultuurfabriek
03/29 Antwerp, BEL – Trix
03/30 London, UK – Underworld
04/01 Glasgow, UK – Cathouse
04/02 Manchester, UK – Sound Control
04/03 Wolverhampton, UK – Slade Rooms
04/04 Paris, FRA – Nouveau Casino
04/05 Koln, GER – Luxor
04/06 Karlsruhe, GER – Substage
04/08 Saarbrucken, GER – Garage
04/09 Aarau, SWI – Kiff
04/10 Munchen, GER – Backstage Halle
04/11 Wien, AUT – Szene
04/12 Prague, CZE – Nova Chmelnice
04/13 Krakow, POL – Kwadrat Club
04/15 Berlin, GER – Lido
04/16 Bremen, GER – Tower
04/17 Hamburg, GER – Knust
04/18 Copenhagen, DEN – Vega
04/19 Gothenburg, SWE – Sticky Fingers
04/20 Stockholm, SWE – Debaser Strand
07/21-25 Tolmin, SLO – Metaldays
07/26 Viersen, GER – Eier mit Speck Festival
07/27 Eindhoven, NET – Dynamo
07/29 Rotterdam, NET – Baroeg
07/30 Weinheim, GER – Cafe Central
07/31 Wiesbaden, GER – Schlachthof
08/01 Wacken, GER – Wacken Open Air
08/08 Derbyshire, UK – Bloodstock Open AIr
08/09 Kortrijk, BEL – Alcatraz Festival
08/24 Bad Wünnenberg, GER – Wünnstock Open Air

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch