Monster Magnet Debut New Song, Announce North American Tour


An October 15th release date has been given to Monster Magnet‘s forthcoming new studio album “Last Patrol“. Napalm Records will put out the album which was produced by the bands own Dave Wyndorf and Phil Caivano.

Matt Hyde (Slayer, Hatebreed) also helped out with the production duties; while Joe Barresi (Queens Of The Stone Age, Tool) took care of the mixing. Below you can find the track listing and cover art for the album.

- Advertisement -

Meanwhile, speaking of the new effort Wyndorf said:

Last Patrol is a return to our roots in terms of vibe and recording style. It’s full-on psychedelic space-rock with a 60’s garage feel, recorded almost exclusively with vintage guitars, amps and effects in our hometown of Red Bank, NJ. The songs are a kind of Space-Noir, tales of cosmic revenge, peaking libidos, alienation and epic strangeness.

It’s a weird trip through the back alleys of a dark, retro-future, which not by coincidence very much resembles my own life. (laughs) The lyrics aren’t fantasy really, rather a recounting of my musings on, observations of and general emotional reaction to my life and environment during a 1 week writing period in February of 2013.

But I tend to use the vernacular and imagery of science fiction and surrealism to express myself and that’s where these lyrics get trippy. There’s also our cover version of Donovan‘s “Three Kingfishers” which I thought fit the mood of the album.

Last Patrol was produced by Phil Caivano and myself with an effort to bring a home grown feel to the whole affair. We had been doing smaller projects out of Phil‘s “Studio 13” recording space and I really felt comfortable there so it was the natural choice on where to record the next full-scale Monster Magnet album. Phil and I grew up together and have a shared love of some very particular vintage music and styles. And everybody in the band played their asses off on this one.”

A new song from the album titled “The Duke (Of Supernature)” can be streamed online below via “Last Patrol” will be available in standard, limited edition CD, 2xLP and digital formats.

Furthermore, the band have also announced the dates their first full North American tour in over ten years. Zodiac will support them on the run, dates for which include:

11/14 Grand Rapids, MI – Intersection
11/15 Detroit, MI – St. Andrews
11/16 Chicago, IL – Bottom Lounge
11/17 Minneapolis, MN – Mill City Nights
11/19 Denver, CO – Marquis Theater
11/20 Salt Lake City, UT – Urban Lounge
11/22 Seattle, WA – Neumos
11/23 Vancouver, BC – Rickshaw Theater
11/24 Portland, OR – Hawthorne Theater
11/26 San Francisco, CA – The Independent
11/27 Los Angeles, CA – House of Blues
11/29 Tempe, AZ – Club Red
11/30 Albuquerque, NM – Launch Pad
12/02 Austin, TX – Red 7
12/03 Houston, TX – Fitzgeralds
12/04 Dallas, TX – Trees
12/06 Atlanta, GA – Masquerade
12/07 Charlotte, NC – Amos Southend
12/08 Baltimore, MD – Baltimore Sound Stage
12/10 Toronto, ON – Lee’s Palace
12/12 Boston, MA – Sinclair
12/13 West Chester, PA – The Note
12/14 New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom

Last Patrol” track listing:

01 – “I Live Behind The Clouds
02 – “Last Patrol
03 – “Three King Fishers” (Donovan cover)
04 – “Paradise
05 – “Hallelujah
06 – “Mindless Ones
07 – “The Duke (Of Supernature)
08 – “End Of Time
09 – “Stay Tuned

Monster Magnet - Last Patrol

Monster Magnet - Last Patrol

- Advertisement - Purchase Merch